World Heritage / UNESCO

Protection of cultural and natural sites, customs and traditions

Selection in the drop-down menu

What is the UNESCO World Heritage Site?

The UNESCO World Heritage Site is a list of cultural and natural sites that are recognized and protected by UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) as being of particular importance to humanity. These sites are characterized by their cultural or natural uniqueness and universality and should be preserved for future generations.

UNESCO World Heritage also refers to customs and traditions , which are seen as living expressions of a community's cultural heritage. These traditions can include social, religious, or artistic practices, such as celebrations, festivals, crafts, music, and dances.

World Heritage criteria

The UNESCO World Heritage Site has 10 criteria it assesses in order to recognize a site as a cultural heritage:

  1. Expression of cultural or spiritual values .
  2. Example of a masterpiece of human creation.
  3. Testimony to a cultural tradition or lore .
  4. Testimony to a Major Cultural Shift .
  5. Reflection of a special human sensitivity .
  6. Places of universal importance from an ethnic, spiritual or religious point of view .
  7. Sites of distinct natural wonder or a remarkable geological formation.
  8. Places that serve as authentic evidence of a cultural landscape or a human settlement.
  9. Places that have a special meaning for science, technology or civilization.
  10. Places of particular importance from an artistic or literary point of view .

These criteria help UNESCO assess the cultural significance of a site and decide whether it should be recognized as a World Heritage Site.

Want to learn more?

Check out these articles below