June 17

0 comments

BMW Welt – mobility with all the senses

By Frank

June 17, 2020


The BMW Welt is unique in its futuristic architecture - it combines design and function in equal measure.

With around 3 million visitors per year, BMW World is the most visited attraction in Bavaria. Neuschwanstein Castle in the Allgäu, in second place on the popularity list, "only" fascinates around 1.3 million visitors . What makes BMW Welt so popular? All year round, visitors can look forward to a varied program of events from culture, art and entertainment as well as culinary delights in several restaurants. Whether it's a jazz concert , poetry slam, clubbing , improv theatre, family Sunday, film premiere, gala event or panel discussion - BMW Welt offers an ideal platform for innovative events for up to 2,500 guests.



The brain and heart of the BMW Group are located in Munich. Right next to the BMW high-rise, also known as the "four-cylinder" , is the BMW plant in Munich, the parent plant of the BMW brand . The BMW Group's research and innovation center is also in the immediate vicinity, where around 9,000 employees work on future-oriented solutions .




AHA! Cool ...


Experience and event site

The BMW World is a combined exhibition, delivery, adventure and event location in the immediate vicinity of the "four-cylinder", the company headquarters of BMW. When buying a new vehicle, every BMW customer has the opportunity to pick up their new vehicle in the heart of the brand , in the BMW World. Many BMW customers and fans, who have often traveled a long way, take advantage of this opportunity and experience an unforgettable day .

The BMW World was built from August 2003 to the summer of 2007 - construction costs around 500 million euros.


Event gastronomy - gourmet restaurant "dining room"

Admittedly, a restaurant in a car showroom doesn't sound very sexy, except maybe for men who would rather spend money on motor oil than olive oil anyway. All the nicer is the surprise when entering the restaurant: the dining room is on the third floor , high above the actual happenings.

The gourmet restaurant ESS , run by star chef Bobby Bräuer, has two Michelin stars and 18 Gault & Millau points . And with Bobby Bräuer there is also a man at the stove, with whom possible prejudices tend to be positive anyway: Bräuer, born in 1961, worked at the beginning of his career with legendary kitchen greats such as André Jaeger in the 'Fischerzunft', in the ' Schweizer Stuben ' worked under Dieter Müller and finally as sous-chef of Eckart Witzigmann in the ' Aubergine '. As chef de cuisine, he ran the 'Victorian' in Düsseldorf and the ' Königshof ' in Munich. Such a vita creates trust.

There is also the Bavarie , our international restaurant on the first floor, and the Biker's Lodge and Cooper's Snack Bar . As a result, BMW World has also become a culinary meeting place .

BMW Welt – mobility with all the senses

sushi salmon


Air Design

The building also relies on so-called air design , or to put it another way, it is scented . Over 70% of our emotions are influenced by the sense of smell . Fragrance awakens feelings that the mind cannot control. If a person is to feel comfortable, they must be able to smell their surroundings.

Experts distinguish between conscious and unconscious aromas . The BMW World in Munich, for example, uses an unconscious scent that is so subtle that visitors are not consciously aware of it. Fragrances offer multi-sensory experiences that have a positive effect on the perceived quality of services and products.

Our nose is incorruptible . What we smell can do far more in our soul than what we see or hear . Over 70% of our emotions are influenced by the sense of smell . Tiny scent molecules are absorbed with our nose. They stimulate the approximately 20 million olfactory nerve cells . These convert the scent into an electrical signal and cause an immediate reaction in the brain , as they are directly connected to the innermost control center , the so-called limbic system .

The limbic system not only controls the emotional life , it also houses the memory for scents . According to the signals received , the brain triggers the release of hormones that stimulate or soothe glands and internal organs. Fragrance awakens feelings that the mind cannot control . The sense of smell is the "gateway to the soul " they say. No sensory perception takes place as quickly as smelling and triggers an intense experience . Smell is the most immediate of all senses . Before you see something, you have usually already smelled and recognized it.

BMW Welt – mobility with all the senses

Inside the BMW World Hall with a spacious experience area

Fragrances are therefore particularly well suited as an innovative instrument to increase people's sense of well-being , to strengthen a brand , to promote products , to actively retain customers and, last but not least, for non- verbal communication !

A well-balanced, subtle room fragrance

  • lift the mood
  • increases well-being
  • conveys a feeling of being "at home".


"Where it smells fine , the appearance of a room,
the quality of products and services,
the friendliness and competence of people
rated higher,

than in places where that is not the case.”



A light breeze of pleasant scents :

  • causes positive customer behavior and customer loyalty
  • lengthens the customer 's dwell time, because where it smells good...
  • increases the desire to buy and thus sales
  • brings a new shopping experience for your customers
  • eliminates negative odors (e.g. rubber smell from tires) and improves air quality
  • creates decisive competitive advantages



"The art is that people immediately feel comfortable in a room."



Unbelievable


Architectural masterpiece

Conceived as a "floating field of clouds" (according to architect Professor Wolf D. Prix from the Viennese office Himmelb(l)au). Symbolically speaking, a kind of “roof cloud” flows out of this. Architect Professor Wolf Prix combined speed and lightness in the 180 meter long car palace . The 16,000 m² roof cloud that emerges from the formative double cone is supported by only twelve pendulum supports and gives the impression of floating .

bmw world with connecting bridge

BMW Welt with "floating cloud field"

It has a height of approx. 30m and a diameter of around 40m , built from approx. 680 tons of steel . In its spiral movement, it deforms the dynamic forces and allows them to merge with the regular construction grid of the main roof. The imposing building with the 28 meter high double cone is reminiscent of a hurricane . Each of his steel profiles is made with an individual template and was only allowed to deviate from the specifications by a maximum of two millimeters during construction. Important data cables also run through these profiles.

Architect Prix was touched by the completion of his mammoth project at the opening ceremony. "I'm really proud ," he said. The roof is so big that it could cover St. Mark's Square in Venice. Nevertheless, the building does not have the "boredom of an exhibition hall". Quite immodestly, Prix even compared the “ BMW World ” to the ancient Acropolis of Athens. It was once not only a temple, but also a marketplace, communication center and meeting place for knowledge transfer . He has now created a new interpretation of these uses in Munich.




What's exciting to see?



BMW museum

BMW Welt – mobility with all the senses

BMW museum

Mobility combined with sportiness, elegance, dynamism and passion - that's what the BMW Museum has stood for since it opened in 1973.

The exhibition with historic automobiles , motorcycles, racing and aircraft engines allows visitors to experience the horizons of BMW technology and design history : from the beginning of the last century to the new millennium.

Visitors can wander through the "museum streets" along 25 main topics and gather a variety of impressions at the pulse of the brand .

The permanent exhibition extends over around 4,000 m² and houses over 120 of the most valuable and attractive automobiles, motorcycles and engines from nine decades of BMW history. The permanent exhibition is connected to the museum bowl by a bridge .


The heart of the brands

Many BMW customers and fans, who have often traveled a long way, take advantage of this opportunity and experience an unforgettable day . As a brand experience space, BMW Welt invites you to delve deep into the company . Changing product exhibitions, all automobile series and motorcycles, as well as numerous interactive exhibits show the visitor the world of BMW, BMW M, BMW i, BMW Motorrad, MINI and Rolls Royce. Each brand is represented with its own brand experience area .

In addition, interactive exhibits open up numerous points of contact and give every visitor the opportunity to actively experience the brands . All vehicles are open and can be experienced with all senses from the driver's seat.



BMW world

At the Olympic Park 1

80809 Munich



About the author

It is more valuable to experience a place in detail than many small impressions of an incomprehensible whole.

Genius Loci - discovering, capturing and experiencing the spirit of a place. Perceive - understand - enjoy!

As a graduate industrial engineer with an additional MBA degree from a renowned university in England (EMBA, EQUIS and AACSB accredited), I have been showing other, often surprising, paths to success for more than 30 years at C-Level (Head of Marketing and Sales worldwide).

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>

Juni 17

0 comments

BMW Welt – Mobilität mit allen Sinnen

By Frank

Juni 17, 2020


Die BMW Welt ist in ihrer futuristischen Architektur einzigartig – sie vereint Design und Funktion gleichermaßen. 

Mit ca. 3 Millionen Besuchern pro Jahr ist die BMW Welt die meistbesuchte Sehenswürdigkeit in Bayern. Schloss Neuschwanstein im Allgäu auf Platz 2 der Beliebtheitsskala zieht „nur“ etwa 1,3 Millionen Besucher in seinen Bann. Was macht die BMW Welt so beliebt? Auf die Besucher warten das ganze Jahr über ein vielseitiges Veranstaltungsprogramm aus Kultur, Kunst und Entertainment sowie Gaumenfreuden in mehreren Restaurants. Egal ob Jazz-Konzert, Poetry Slam, Clubbing, Improtheater, Familiensonntag, Filmpremiere, Gala-Event oder Podiumsdiskussion - die BMW Welt bietet innovativen Veranstaltungen für bis zu 2.500 Gäste eine ideale Plattform. 



Am Standort München sitzen das Gehirn und das Herz der BMW Group. Gleich neben dem BMW Hochhaus, auch „Vierzylinder“ genannt, liegt das BMW Werk München, das Stammwerk der Marke BMW. In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft befindet sich außerdem das Forschungs-und Innovationszentrum der BMW Group, in dem rund 9.000 Mitarbeiter an zukunftsorientierten Lösungen arbeiten.

Die BMW Welt ist eine kombinierte Ausstellungs-, Auslieferungs-, Erlebnis- und Eventstätte in direkter Nähe zum „Vierzylinder“, der Firmenzentrale von BMW. Jeder BMW Kunde erhält beim Kauf eines Neufahrzeugs die Möglichkeit Angebot, sein neues Fahrzeug im Herzen der Marke, in der BMW Welt abzuholen. Viele, oft weit angereiste BMW Kunden und Fans nutzen diese Möglichkeit und erleben einen unvergesslichen Tag

Die BMW Welt wurde von August 2003 bis Sommer 2007 erbaut – Baukosten ca. 500 Millionen Euro.


AHA! Cool ...

Das Gebäude setzt auch auf sogenanntes Air Design oder anders formuliert, es wird beduftet. Über 70 % unserer Emotionen werden über den Geruchssinn beeinflusst. Wohlgeruch weckt Gefühle, die der Verstand nicht kontrollieren kann. Soll sich ein Mensch wohlfühlen, muss er seine Umgebung riechen können.

Experten unterscheiden dabei zwischen bewussten und unbewussten Aromen. Die Münchner BMW -Welt beispielsweise verwendet einen unbewussten Duft, er ist so dezent, dass ihn die Besucher nicht bewusst wahrnehmen. Düfte bieten dabei multisensorische Erfahrungen, welche sich positiv auf die wahrgenommene Qualität von Dienstleistungen und Produkten auswirken.

Unsere Nase ist unbestechlich. Das, was wir riechen, vermag in unserer Seele weit mehr zu bewirken, als das, was wir sehen oder hören. Über 70 % unserer Emotionen werden über den Geruchssinn beeinflusst. Mit unserer Nase werden winzige Duftmoleküle aufgenommen. Sie reizen die etwa 20 Millionen Riech-Nervenzellen. Diese wandeln den Duft in ein elektrisches Signal um und bewirken eine sofortige Reaktion im Gehirn, da sie mit der innersten Schaltzentrale, dem sogenannten limbischen System, direkt in Verbindung stehen.

Das limbische System steuert nicht nur das Gefühlsleben, es beherbergt auch das Gedächtnis für Düfte. Entsprechend der empfangenen Signale veranlasst das Gehirn die Ausschüttung von Hormonen, die Anregung oder Besänftigung von Drüsen und inneren Organen. Wohlgeruch weckt Gefühle, die der Verstand nicht kontrollieren kann. Der Geruchssinn ist das "Tor zur Seele" sagt man. Keine Sinneswahrnehmung vollzieht sich so schnell wie das Riechen und löst dabei auch intensives Erleben aus. Der Geruch ist der unmittelbarste aller Sinne. Bevor man etwas sieht, hat man es in der Regel schon gerochen und erkannt.

BMW Welt Halle innen mit großzügiger Erlebnisfläche

Düfte eignen sich deshalb besonders gut als innovatives Instrument zur Steigerung des Wohlgefühls bei Menschen, zur Stärkung einer Marke, zur Absatzförderung von Produkten, zur aktiven Kundenbindung und nicht zu letzt zur nonverbalen Kommunikation!

Ein gut abgestimmter, subtiler Raumduft

  • hebt die Stimmung
  • steigert das Wohlgefühl
  • vermittelt ein Gefühl von „Zuhause“ sein


„Dort wo es fein duftet, wird das Erscheinungsbild eines Raumes,
die Qualität von Produkten und Dienstleistungen,
die Freundlichkeit und Kompetenz von Menschen
höher bewertet,

als an Orten, wo das nicht der Fall ist.“



Eine leichte Brise angenehmer Düfte:

  • bewirkt positives Kundenverhalten und Kundenbindung
  • verlängert die Kundenverweildauer, denn wo es gut riecht …
  • steigert die Kauflust und damit den Umsatz
  • bringt ein neues Einkaufserlebnis für Ihre Kunden
  • baut negative Gerüche ab (z.B. Gummigeruch der Bereifung) und verbessert die Luftqualität
  • schafft entscheidende Wettbewerbsvorteile



“Die Kunst ist es, dass sich Menschen sofort in einem Raum wohlfühlen.”



Unglaublich

Als "schwebendes Wolkenfeld" konzipiert (lt. Architekt Professor Wolf D. Prix vom Wiener Büro Himmelb(l)au). Aus diesem strömt sinnbildlich betrachtet eine Art „Dachwolke“. Geschwindigkeit und Leichtigkeit hat Architekt Professor Wolf Prix in dem 180 Meter langen Autopalast vereint. Die aus dem formgebenden Doppelkegel entspringende, 16.000 m² große Dachwolke, wird von nur zwölf Pendelstützen getragen und vermittelt einen schwebenden Eindruck.

Er verfügt über eine Höhe von ca. 30m und einen Durchmesser von rund 40m, gebaut aus ca. 680 Tonnen Stahl. In seiner spiralförmigen Bewegung verformt er die dynamischen Kräfte und lässt sie mit dem regelmäßigen Konstruktionsraster des Hauptdaches verschmelzen.Das imposante Gebäude mit dem 28 Meter hohen Doppelkegel erinnert an einen Wirbelsturm. Jedes einzelne seiner Stahlprofile ist mit einer individuellen Schablone angefertigt und durfte bei der Konstruktion nur maximal zwei Millimeter von den Vorgaben abweichen. Durch diese Profile verlaufen auch wichtige Datenkabel.

Architekt Prix zeigte sich beim Eröffnungsfestakt gerührt von der Fertigstellung seines Mammutprojekts. „Ich bin wirklich stolz“, sagte er. Das Dach sei so groß, dass damit der Markusplatz in Venedig überdeckt werden könnte. Dennoch habe das Gebäude nicht die „Langeweile einer Messehalle“. Durchaus unbescheiden verglich Prix die „BMW Welt“ sogar mit der antiken Akropolis von Athen. Sie sei dereinst nicht nur ein Tempel, sondern auch Marktplatz, Kommunikationszentrum und Treffpunkt für Wissenstransfer gewesen. Er habe nun in München eine Neuinterpretation dieser Nutzungszwecke geschaffen.



Was gibt es Prickelndes zu sehen?

BMW Museum

BMW Museum

Mobilität verbunden mit Sportlichkeit, Eleganz, Dynamik und Leidenschaft – dafür steht das BMW Museum seit seiner Eröffnung im Jahr 1973.

Die Ausstellung mit historischen Automobilen, Motorrädern, Renn- und Flugmotoren lässt die Besucher die Horizonte der BMW Technik und Designgeschichte erleben: von den Anfängen zu Beginn des letzten Jahrhunderts bis ins neue Jahrtausend. 

Entlang von 25 Themenschwerpunkten können die Besucher durch die „Museums-Straßen“ wandern und am Puls der Marke vielfältige Eindrücke sammeln.

 Die Dauerausstellung erstreckt sich über rund 4.000 m² und beherbergt über über 120 der wertvollsten und attraktivsten Automobile, Motorräder und Motoren aus neun Jahrzehnten BMW Historie. Die Dauerausstellung ist mit der Museumsschüssel über eine Brücke verbunden.


Das Herz der Marken

Viele, oft weit angereiste BMW Kunden und Fans nutzen diese Möglichkeit und erleben einen unvergesslichen Tag. Als Markenerlebnisraum lädt die BMW Welt dazu ein, tief in das Unternehmen einzutauchen. Wechselnde Produktausstellungen, alle Automobilbaureihen und Motorräder, sowie zahlreiche, interaktive Exponate zeigen dem Besucher die Welt von BMW, BMW M, BMW i, BMW Motorrad, MINI und Rolls Royce. Jede Marke ist mit einem eigenen Markenerlebnisbereich vertreten.

Darüber hinaus eröffnen interaktive Exponate zahlreiche Berührungspunkte und geben jedem Besucher die Möglichkeit, die Marken aktiv zu erleben. Alle Fahrzeuge stehen offen und können vom Fahrersitz aus mit allen Sinnen erfahren werden.


Gourmet Restaurant "Esszimmer"

Zugegeben: Ein Restaurant in einem Auto-Showroom klingt nicht sehr sexy, außer vielleicht für Männer, die sowieso lieber Geld für Motoröl als für Olivenöl ausgeben. Umso schöner die Überraschung beim Betreten des Restaurants: Das Esszimmer befindet sich im dritten Stock, hoch über dem eigentlichen Geschehen.

Das Gourmet-Restaurant Esszimmer, das von Starkoch Bobby Bräuer geleitet wird, hat zwei Michelin-Sterne und 18 Gault & Millau-Punkte. Und mit Bobby Bräuer steht auch noch ein Mann am Herd, bei dem mögliche Vorurteile sowieso eher positiv ausfallen: Bräuer, Jahrgang '61, hat zu Beginn seiner Karriere bei legendären Küchengranden wie André Jaeger in der 'Fischerzunft', in den 'Schweizer Stuben' unter Dieter Müller und schließlich als Souschef Eckart Witzigmanns in der 'Aubergine' gearbeitet. Als Küchenchef leitete er unter anderem das Düsseldorfer 'Victorian' und den Münchner 'Königshof'. Solch eine Vita schafft Vertrauen.

Sushi Lachs

Dazu gibt es die Bavarie, unser internationales Restaurant im ersten Geschoss und die Biker‘s Lodge sowie die Cooper’s Snack Bar. Dadurch ist die BMW-Welt auch zum kulinarischen Treffpunkt geworden.




BMW Welt

Am Olympiapark 1

80809 München



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the author

Es ist wertvoller einen Ort im Detail zu erleben, als viele kleine Eindrücke eines unbegreifbaren Ganzen. Genius Loci - den Geist eines Ortes für sich zu entdecken, einzufangen und zu erleben. Wahrnehmen - verstehen - genießen! Als diplomierter Wirtschaftsingenieur mit zusätzlichem MBA-Studium an renommierter Universität in England (EMBA, EQUIS und AACSB akkreditiert) habe ich mehr als 30 Jahre auf C-Level (Vorstand Marketing und Vertrieb weltweit) für andere oft überraschende Wege zum Erfolg aufgezeigt.

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>