July 3

0 comments

Garmisch Partenkirchen – … in the “Golden Country”

By Frank

July 3, 2020



Green Meadows . clear water . Surrounded by the impressive Bavarian Alps.


The Werdenfelser Land, also " Goldenes Landl" , describes the alpine holiday landscape . The "Goldenes Landl" stretches from Mittenwald to Farchant and forms a landscape straight out of a picture book. It is not for nothing that Bavaria's fairytale king called Ludwig II . his favorite place "Goldenes Landl".




Aha! Cool...


Roman travel station on the Via Claudia

The first traces of human settlement in the region date back to the Neolithic Age (approx. 4000 years ago). The region has always been important because of its location on the travel route from Italy to the Danube. In Roman times, the Partanum travel station was located on the site of today's Partenkirchen - this was on the Via Claudia Roman road .

The settlement of the Loisachtal by the Bavarians dates back to the 7th century . Garmisch was first mentioned in 802 as " Geramreskauue ", Partenkirchen in 1130 as "Barthinichiirchen" . In 1924 the entire county of Werdenfelser Land became the property of the Bishopric of Freising . This was not to change until secularization in 1802.



Crossing the Alps for connoisseurs on the "Via Claudia"

In the High Middle Ages , Partenkirchen was an important station on the way to Italy for the Fugger and Welser family. This resulted in an economic boom; the place flourished as a travel and trading station between Augsburg and Venice.

Today, the Alpencross on the "Via Claudia" is a popular route across the Alps. The route leads from Grainau near Garmisch over the Fern Pass, through the Inn Valley , over the Reschen Pass , through the fantastically beautiful Vinschgau and the Adige Valley to Lake Garda and thus follows the old Roman road Via Claudia Augusta, which has been developed into a cycle route. Beautifully scenic , technically easy Transalp .



Active relaxation

Really clear your head . Switch your thoughts to flow. Take: idyllic mountain paths , lush green meadows and crystal-clear mountain lakes . Alternatively: powdery white snow, majestic peaks and wintry silence. Add a sporting activity of your choice – and the seductive holiday cocktail is ready!

In Garmisch-Partenkirchen, the door and gate is open to active relaxation all year round - regardless of whether you find it hiking or skiing , cycling or cross-country skiing, golfing or touring. With every minute you feel a bit lighter. Maybe it's the everyday worries that tumble off your shoulders with every step you take? What you take home with you: a backpack full of unforgettable holiday memories !

Active relaxation




Tourist magnet Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Around a million tourists spend their holidays in the district of Garmisch Partenkirchen every year. Above all, the wonderful nature and traditional charm of the region make Garmisch-Partenkirchen a popular travel destination . In 2018 there were 53,000 Arab overnight guests, around 49,000 visitors from the USA and 38,000 people from the UK in Garmisch.




Merging of Garmisch and Partenkirchen?

The final basis for the merging of the two communities did not come about until January 1st , 1935, because in 1936 Garmisch-Partenkirchen was supposed to host the fourth Olympic Winter Games .

King Ludwig II had already thought about a merger , because he often mentioned the formation of the "Stadt Werdenfels ". But because of the different views of the two communities, this has always remained unrealistic.




Unbelievable

 

"Olympia" 1936 and the merger

Oh yes - there were dissenting votes during the amalgamation (forced association) in 1935 , but action was taken against them with threats of being sent to the Dachau concentration camp .

To this day , the 26,000-strong community has no city rights , so the market in Garmisch-Partenkirchen is, strictly speaking, still a village. The division into Garmisch and Partenkirchen is still carefully maintained by the long-established locals today ...

The chamois buck on the lederhosen is a traditional Garmisch sign, while the real Partenkirchner can be recognized by the oak leaves on his jacket lapels pointing downwards .

In terms of dialect, there are also small but subtle differences in the two districts, for example 1 liter of beer with lemonade is poured as "A Ral e -Mass" in Garmisch, while in Partenkirchen it is poured as "A Ral a -Mass" . ????

Leather pants with knife



What is there to see?


The ski jump

By now, everyone should know the ski jump in Garmisch-Partenkirchen from the annual New Year's competition . In Germany alone, ARD now has 7 million viewers . More than 100 million viewers around the world watch ski jumping on New Year's Day .

Partenkirchen from the ski jump

After Germany was excluded from hosting the Olympic Games for many years due to World War I, Berlin received the right to host the XI. Summer Olympics for 1936 . The rights at the time also allowed the host country to propose a location for the Winter Olympics. The choice of the IV Olympic Winter Games fell on the German winter sports resort of Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

An impressive wooden construction was erected in the form of a new Olympic ski jump, which had a 43m high and 5m wide inrun tower. On February 16, 1936, the final day, more than 130,000 spectators followed the events. A record that remains unbroken to this day. The Olympic Stadium , which can still be visited today, was built for the planned Olympics in 1940 .

In 1950 the old wooden structure was demolished and replaced by a new, modern steel structure . In 1978 the ski jump was rebuilt again and the K point was extended to 107 meters . In 2007 the hill was blown up again because the hill certificate no longer met the FIS criteria.

Work began under great time pressure in order to be able to complete the new futuristic K125 ski jump in time for the New Year's competition in 2008 for about 14 million euros.



"Bet That..." Show (Feb. 2019)

At the "Wetten dass" show in 2019, Toni Roßberger ( from Penzberg) fell off the large ski jump in Garmisch-Partenkirchen with his motocross machine and landed after 80 meters . It was a perfect jump with a perfect landing , everything looked so playful. 18.6 million people glued to the screen and witnessed how the young Penzberger became a national celebrity overnight.

Distances of this magnitude were achieved by ski jumpers on skis in the 1930s ... (in 2008 the hill record on skis was set by Gregor Schliernzauer with 141 meters)

This world record almost didn't come about because the motorcycle broke down while the show was already on . Without further ado, the replacement machine had to be used, nobody could assess the risk. But everything went well...




Lüftlmalerei - facade art based on traditional craftsmanship


Air painting in Garmisch

Large pictures shine from the old house walls. They tell stories of traditional life and the deeply rooted beliefs of the villagers: woodworkers and raftsmen go about their hard work, St. Christopher carries the baby Jesus across the river and there is extensive celebration at a cheerful pub scene.

Lüftlmalerei is a popular variant of the sham painting from the Baroque . The pictures are applied to the fresh lime plaster on the house wall using a fresco technique . In a chemical reaction , the colors "silicify" with the plaster and make the pictures weatherproof and durable for a long time .

The traditional Lüftlmalerei works with mineral colors and mostly depicts rural and religious motifs , as was customary in the 18th century. But we can also describe works like those at the Rhenish court as Lüftlmalerei," he says. "They just don't last as long as the pictures from back then, thanks to modern plastering and coloring techniques."



"Indian Summer"

Indian Summer, Grainau; Source: Kreisbote

You don't necessarily have to go to America or Canada to experience an " Indian Summer ". The autumnal color spectacle can also be experienced and enjoyed while hiking in the " Goldenes Landl ".

At the foot of the Zugspitze, the red-golden crowns of the gnarled maple and chestnut trees shine out of the green of the mountain forest in October.



Partnachklamm - fascinating gorge!

In 1912 the Partnach Gorge was opened up for tourism . The Partnachklamm is one of the most impressive gorges in the Bavarian Alps, attracting more than 200,000 visitors every year. Over a length of 700 meters , the Partnach - fed, among other things, by meltwater from the Schneeferner Glacier - cuts through mighty layers of rock. These formed around 240 million years ago in a shallow sea.

Patnachklamm

The walls of the gorge rise up to 80 meters , and at the end of the gorge the view of the mighty Wetterstein massif opens up. The Partnachklamm can be accessed all year round through tunnels and passages blasted into the rock. From a bridge stretched 68 meters above the river, you can look down into the foaming waters .


The Partnach Gorge is considered one of the most beautiful natural monuments in Bavaria.





Marienplatz 2

82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen




About the author

It is more valuable to experience a place in detail than many small impressions of an incomprehensible whole.

Genius Loci - discovering, capturing and experiencing the spirit of a place. Perceive - understand - enjoy!

As a graduate industrial engineer with an additional MBA degree from a renowned university in England (EMBA, EQUIS and AACSB accredited), I have been showing other, often surprising, paths to success for more than 30 years at C-Level (Head of Marketing and Sales worldwide).

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>

Juli 3

0 comments

Garmisch Partenkirchen – … im „Goldenen Landl“

By Frank

Juli 3, 2020



Grüne Wiesen. Klares Wasser. Umfasst von den eindrücklichen Bayerischen Alpen. 


Das Werdenfelser Land, auch "Goldenes Landl", bezeichnet die alpenländische Urlaubslandschaft. Das "Goldene Landl" erstreckt sich von Mittenwald bis nach Farchant und bildet eine Landschaft wie aus dem Bilderbuch. Nicht umsonst nannte auch Bayerns Märchenkönig Ludwig II. seinen Lieblingsplatz "Goldenes Landl".




Aha! Cool...


Römische Reisestation an der Via Claudia

Erste menschliche Siedlungsspuren in der Region sind für die Jungsteinzeit (vor ca. 4000 Jahren) belegbar. Die Region hatte in Folge immer Bedeutung durch ihre Lage an der Reiseroute von Italien an die Donau. In der Römerzeit befand sich an der Stelle des heutigen Partenkirchen die Reisestation Partanum - diese lag an der Römerstraße Via Claudia.

Die Besiedlung des Loisachtales durch die Bajuwaren wird auf das 7. Jahrhundert datiert, Garmisch wird das erste Mal im Jahre 802 als "Geramreskauue" erwähnt, Partenkirchen 1130 als "Barthinichirchen".  Im Jahre 1924 geht die gesamte Grafschaft des Werdenfelser Landes in den Besitz des Hochstifts Freising über. Daran sollte sich auch bis zur Säkularisierung im Jahre 1802 nichts mehr ändern.



Alpencross für Genießer auf der "Via Claudia"

Im Hochmittelalter war Partenkirchen für die Fugger und Welser eine wichtige Station auf dem Weg nach Italien. Daraus resultierte ein wirtschaftlicher Aufschwung; der Ort blühte als Reise- und Handelsstation zwischen Augsburg und Venedig auf.

Heute ist die Alpencross auf der "Via Claudia" eine beliebte Route über die Alpen. Die Route führt von Grainau bei Garmisch über den Fernpass, durchs Inntal, über den Reschenpass, durchs traumhaft schöne Vinschgau und das Etschtal zum Gardasee und folgt damit der zur Radroute ausgebauten alten Römerstraße Via Claudia Augusta. Landschaftlich wunderschöne, fahrtechnisch leichte Transalp



Aktiv entspannen

Den Kopf so richtig frei bekommen. Die Gedanken auf Durchzug schalten. Man nehme: idyllische Bergpfade, saftig grüne Wiesen und kristallklare Bergseen. Alternativ: pudrig weißen Schnee, majestätische Gipfel und winterliche Stille. Dazu eine sportliche Aktivität nach Wahl – und fertig ist der verführerische Urlaubscocktail!

In Garmisch-Partenkirchen stehen der aktiven Erholung das ganze Jahr über Tür und Tor offen – ganz egal, ob man beim Wandern oder Skifahren, beim Radeln oder Langlaufen, beim Golfen oder Tourengehen findet. Mit jeder Minute fühlt man sich dabei ein Stückchen leichter. Vielleicht liegt es ja an den Alltagssorgen, die mit jedem Schritt von den Schultern purzeln? Was man mit nach Hause nimmt: einen Rucksack prall gefüllt mit unvergesslichen Urlaubserinnerungen!

Aktiv entspannen




Touristenmagnet Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Rund eine Million Touristen verbringen jedes Jahr ihren Urlaub im Landkreis Garmisch Partenkirchen. Vor allem die wunderbare Natur und der traditionelle Charme der Region machen Garmisch-Partenkirchen zu einem beliebten Reiseziel. In 2018 zählte man 53.000 arabische Übernachtungs-Gäste, etwa 49.000 Besucher aus den USA und 38.000 Personen aus dem Vereinigten Königreich in Garmisch.




Zusammenlegung von Garmisch und Partenkirchen?

Die endgültige Grundlage für die Zusammenlegung der beiden Gemeinden erfolgte erst zum 01.01.1935, denn 1936 sollte Garmisch-Partenkirchen die IV. Olympischen Winterspiele austragen. 

Bereits König Ludwig II. hatte wohl über eine Zusammenlegung nachgedacht, denn öfters erwähnte er die Bildung der "Stadt Werdenfels". Aber .aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Ansichten der beiden Gemeinden blieb dies immer unrealistisch.




Unglaublich

 

"Olympia"  1936 und die Zusammenlegung

Ach ja - bei der Zusammenlegung (Zwangsvereinigung) 1935 gab es Gegenstimmen, gegen die allerdings mit Androhungen einer Einlieferung in das KZ Dachau vorgegangen wurde.

So hat bis heute die 26.000 Seelen Gemeinde keine Stadtrechte, Markt Garmisch-Partenkirchen ist daher streng gesehen, immer noch ein Dorf. Die Aufteilung in Garmisch und Partenkirchen wird von den alteingesessenen Einheimischen auch heute noch sorgfältig gepflegt...

Der Gamsbock auf der Lederhose ist ein traditionelles Garmischer Zeichen, während man den echten Partenkirchner am nach unten gerichteten Eichenlaub an seinem Jackenrevers erkennt.

Auch in Sachen Dialekt gibt es in den beiden Ortsteilen kleine, aber feine Unterschiede z.B. 1 Liter Bier mit Limonade wird in Garmisch als  "A Rale-Mass", in Partenkirchen hingegen als "A Rala-Mass" eingeschenkt. 🙂

Lederhose mit Messer



Was gibt es prickelndes zu sehen?


Die Skisprungschanze

Die Skisprungschanze in Garmisch-Partenkirchen dürfte inszwischen jeder vom jährlich ausgetragenen Neujahrsspringen kennen. In Deutschland erreicht allein die ARD inzwischen  7 Millionen Zuschauer. Weltweit verfolgen über 100 Millionen Zuschauer das Skispringen am Neujahrstag.

Partenkirchen von der Sprungschanze

Nachdem Deutschland viele Jahre von der Vergabe der Olympischen Spiele, aufgrund des 1.Weltkrieges, ausgeschlossen wurde, erhielt Berlin 1931 die Austragungsrechte der XI. Olympischen Sommerspiele für das Jahr 1936. Die damaligen Rechte erlaubten es dem Austragungsland auch einen Ort für die Olympischen Winterspiele vorzuschlagen. So fiel die Wahl der IV. Olympischen Winterspiele auf den deutschen Wintersportort Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

So wurde eine beeindruckende Holzkonstruktion in Form einer neuen Olympiaschanze errichtet, die über einen 43m hohen und 5m breiten Anlaufturm verfügte. Am 16.02.1936, dem Schlußtag verfolgten hier über 130.000 Zuschauer das Geschehen. Ein Rekord, der bis heute ungebrochen bleibt. Das Olympiastadion, das auch heute noch zu besichtigen ist, wurde erst für die geplante Olympiade im Jahr 1940 erbaut.

1950 wurde die alte Holzkonstruktion abgerissen und durch eine neu moderne Stahlkonstruktion ersetzt. 1978 wurde dann die Schanze erneut umgebaut und der K-Punkt auf 107 Meter verlängert. 2007 wurde die Schanze erneut gesprengt, da das Schanzenzertifikat nicht mehr den FIS-Kriterien entsprach.

Unter größtem Zeitdruck begannen die Arbeiten, um die neue futuristische K125-Schanze rechtzeitig für das Neujahrsspringen 2008 für ca. 14 Mio. Euro fertig stellen zu können.



"Wetten dass ..." - Show (Feb. 2019)

Bei der "Wetten dass"-Show in 2019 stürzte sich Toni Roßberger (aus Penzberg) mit seiner Moto-Cross Maschine von der großen Skisprungschanze in Garmisch-Partenkirchen und landete nach 80 Meter. Es war ein perfekter Sprung mit einer perfekten Landung, alles sah so spielerisch aus. 18,6 Millionen Menschen klebten an der Mattscheibe und wurden Zeuge, wie der junge Penzberger über Nacht eine nationale Berühmtheit wurde.

Weiten dieser Größenordnung erzielten Skispringer in den 30er Jahren auf Skiern... (2008 wurde der Schanzenrekord auf Skiern von Gregor Schliernzauer mit 141 Metern aufgestellt)

Dieser Weltrekord wäre beinahe nicht zustande gekommen, weil während der bereits laufenden Sendung das Motorrad streikte. Kurzerhand musste die Ersatzmaschine herhalten, keiner konnte dieses Risiko einschätzen. Aber alles ging gut....




Lüftlmalerei - Fassadenkunst nach traditionellem Handwerk


Lüftlmalerei in Garmisch

Große Bilder leuchten von den alten Häuserwänden. Sie erzählen Geschichten vom traditionellen Leben und dem tief verwurzelten Glauben der Dorfbewohner: Holzarbeiter und Flößer gehen ihrer harten Arbeit nach, der heilige Christophorus trägt das Jesuskind über den Fluss und bei einer fröhlichen Wirtshausszene wird ausgiebig gefeiert.

Lüftlmalerei ist eine volkstümliche Variante der Scheinmalerei aus dem Barock. Dabei werden die Bilder in einer Freskotechnik auf den frischen Kalkputz auf der Hauswand aufgetragen. In einer chemischen Reaktion „verkieseln“ die Farben mit dem Putz und machen die Bilder so wetterfest und für lange Zeit haltbar.

 „Die traditionelle Lüftlmalerei arbeitet mit mineralischen Farben und stellt meist bäuerliche und religiöse Motive dar, wie es im 18. Jahrhundert üblich war. Aber auch solche Werke wie am Rheinischen Hof können wir als Lüftlmalerei bezeichnen“, sagt er. „Nur halten sie mit der modernen Putz- und Farbtechnik nicht derart lange wie die Bilder von damals.“



"Indian Summer"

Indian Summer, Grainau;                            Quelle: Kreisbote

Um einen "Indian Summer" zu erleben, muss man nicht unbedingt nach Amerika oder Kanada fahren. Das herbstliche Farbspektakel lässt sich beim Wandern auch im "Goldenen Landl" erleben und genießen. 

Am Fuße der Zugspitze leuchten im Oktober die rotgoldenen Kronen der knorrigen Ahorn- und Kastanienbäume aus dem Grün des Bergwalds hervor..



Partnachklamm - faszinierende Schlucht!

1912 wurde die Partnachklamm touristisch erschlossen. Die Partnachklamm zählt zu den eindrucksvollsten Schluchten der bayerischen Alpen, die jedes Jahr mehr als 200.000 Besucher anzieht. Auf einer Länge von 700 Metern durchschneidet die Partnach - gespeist unter anderem von Schmelzwasser des Schneeferner-Gletschers - mächtige Gesteinsschichten. Diese entstanden vor rund 240 Millionen Jahren in einem flachen Meer.

Patnachklamm

Die Wände der Klamm ragen bis zu 80 Meter empor, und am Ende der Schlucht öffnet sich der Blick auf das gewaltige Wettersteinmassiv. Durch in den Fels gesprengte Stollen und Durchgänge ist die Partnachklamm das ganze Jahr über begehbar. Von einer in 68 Metern Höhe über dem Fluss gespannten Brücke kann man von oben in die schäumenden Fluten blicken.


Die Partnachklamm gilt als eins der schönsten Naturdenkmäler Bayerns.





Marienplatz 2

82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen




Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the author

Es ist wertvoller einen Ort im Detail zu erleben, als viele kleine Eindrücke eines unbegreifbaren Ganzen. Genius Loci - den Geist eines Ortes für sich zu entdecken, einzufangen und zu erleben. Wahrnehmen - verstehen - genießen! Als diplomierter Wirtschaftsingenieur mit zusätzlichem MBA-Studium an renommierter Universität in England (EMBA, EQUIS und AACSB akkreditiert) habe ich mehr als 30 Jahre auf C-Level (Vorstand Marketing und Vertrieb weltweit) für andere oft überraschende Wege zum Erfolg aufgezeigt.

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>