May 24

0 comments

Andechs Monastery – “Praying and Drinking”

By Frank

May 24, 2020


The monastery was built on the site of Andechs Castle , the ancestral seat of the Counts of Andechs, who died out in a direct line in 1248 . 1455 was here a Benedictine monastery by Duke Albrecht III. founded by Bayern Munich to house an important treasure of relics found here in 1388 . (Parts of the crown of thorns, the mocking scepter , the cross and the cloth of Christ ).



The church, built between 1423 and 1427 and redesigned in rococo style by Johann Baptist Zimmermann from 1751, was built as a pilgrimage church . The "Holy Mountain" Andechs is the second largest place of pilgrimage in Bavaria after Altötting.

The Benedictines have been in charge of the pilgrimage since 1455 . They live according to the rule of Saint Benedict, which is often shortened to “ ora et labora – pray and work ”. Year after year, more than 30,000 organized pilgrims from over 130 pilgrimage communities come to the Holy Mountain. At peak times, the groups walk up to 50 km in one day to get to Andechs.


Aha! Cool ...

Since the opening of the Munich Way of St. James from Munich to Lindau in 2003, many individual pilgrims have also come to Andechs, who - mostly coming from Lake Starnberg - stay one night and continue their pilgrimage towards Dießen the next day.

Andechs Monastery, visible from afar on the Holy Mountain above the eastern shore of Lake Ammer, is the oldest place of pilgrimage in Bavaria and has been an asset of the Benedictine Abbey of Saint Bonifaz in Munich since 1850.

The municipality of Andechs is 600 meters above sea level directly on Lake Ammer. That's why it has to be called Andechs am Ammersee .

Andechs Monastery – “Praying and Drinking”

Information board at the parking lot to the "Holy Mountain"



Unbelievable 


The "Kiwi Day"

The times when up to 1,000 tourists from New Zealand and Australia descended on tranquil Andechs to get in the mood for Oktoberfest are probably over. Nevertheless, every year on the last Thursday before the Oktoberfest , Australians and New Zealanders meet for the so-called "Kiwi Day" in Andechs Monastery, almost 50 kilometers south-west of Munich.

In the beer garden of the monastery brewery , they train their drinking resistance for the upcoming Oktoberfest. The Bavarian beer is stronger and cheaper than the Australian - the training should help to cope better with this fatal combination.




What is there to see?


monastery brewery ...

Today the monastery brewery is the largest of only a few authentic monastery breweries in Germany that are run independently by an existing religious community . It belongs to the Benedictines of St. Bonifaz in Munich & Andechs. It is only brewed and bottled on site in Andechs.

In 1455 the first seven monks from Tegernsee came to Andechs . It was they who brought the beer up the mountain. Without the monastic brewing tradition , the Purity Law would not have been possible. Monasteries have always been cultural centers as well. In the Middle Ages, often only monks could read and write . This is how they passed on their knowledge over the centuries, and this applies above all to the brewing industry .

With Ora et Labora - praying and working - it is no longer enough today, a Benedictine monastery wants to survive. The income from the Holy Mountain finances the life of the monastery and the social and cultural commitment of both houses. To ensure that this has a future, the abbey invested twelve million euros in the expansion of the Andechs monastery brewery.

100,000 hectoliters of beer are brewed and bottled on the Holy Mountain every year, light, special, dark, bock beer, wheat beer with and without alcohol . It should stay that way, hence the million-euro investment. A new hall is being built in which empties can be stored in the future - up to 1,500 pallets with 1.2 million half-litre bottles.

Andechs Monastery – “Praying and Drinking”

Andechs logo

There is also space for a new bottling plant that can process 24,000 bottles an hour . This is the largest single investment for the monastery since the new brewery was built in the 1980s. In addition to the twelve million euros, another 20 million will be used for the general renovation of the monastery building in Sankt Bonifaz, the first comprehensive repair since the reconstruction after 1945.


Benedictines don't think in quarters,

but in centuries...!


Around five percent of the output of the Andechs monastery beer is served on the Holy Mountain in the Andechs Bräustüberl, on the terrace and in the monastery inn , the meeting place for the Bavarian way of life and a meeting place for diverse cultures.




Rest and enjoy...

If you are looking for pleasure for body and soul , we recommend a trip to the "Holy Mountain". With an attached brewery, Bräustüberl, monastery inn and an extensive cultural program, the monastery is now a magnet for around 1 million visitors a year from all over the world .

As already mentioned, there are three culinary places: the traditional Bräustüberl with its large terrace and the wonderful panoramic view of the foothills of the Alps, the monastery inn with upscale Bavarian gastronomy or the beer garden with its shady chestnut trees opposite the monastery inn.

Of course, the delicacies from the monastery butcher's shop go best with a freshly tapped Andechs monastery beer or the Andechs alcohol-free beer, which is served in the brewery parlour. As a special treat there is a tray with a selection of beers . Six of the eight beers are below. In general, there are three light, two dark and three wheat beers.

"The Andechs feeling is that you are never alone, " says Josef Eckl, who is responsible for gastronomy at Andechs. And Eckl is still proud that in the Bräustüberl everyone is traditionally allowed to bring their own snack if they want to.

It's already quiet in Andechs at 9 p.m. You can only hear the clattering of dishes and the scrubbing of a broom. It will be cleaned up. The Bräustüberl closes early. " The monks want to be left alone ".



Praying and drinking...

The Trunk Tradition Praying and drinking cups

is known to be intensively maintained to this day

– a business model that has been working perfectly for over 500 years ….




Andechs Monastery

 Bergstrasse 2,

82346 Andechs



About the author

It is more valuable to experience a place in detail than many small impressions of an incomprehensible whole.

Genius Loci - discovering, capturing and experiencing the spirit of a place. Perceive - understand - enjoy!

As a graduate industrial engineer with an additional MBA degree from a renowned university in England (EMBA, EQUIS and AACSB accredited), I have been showing other, often surprising, paths to success for more than 30 years at C-Level (Head of Marketing and Sales worldwide).

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>

Mai 24

0 comments

Kloster Andechs – „Beten und Bechern“

By Frank

Mai 24, 2020


Das Kloster entstand am Ort der Burg Andechs, dem Stammsitz der Grafen von Andechs, die in direkter Linie 1248 ausstarben. 1455 wurde hier ein Benediktinerkloster durch Herzog Albrecht III. von Bayern München gegründet, um einen 1388 hier wieder aufgefundenen bedeutenden Reliquienschatz aufzunehmen. (Teile der Dornenkrone, des Spottzepters, des Kreuzes sowie des Schweißtuches Christi).



Die 1423 bis 1427 erbaute und ab 1751 von Johann Baptist Zimmermann im Rokokostil umgestaltete Kirche war als Wallfahrtskirche errichtet worden. Der „Heilige Berg“ Andechs ist nach Altötting der zweitgrößte Wallfahrtsort Bayerns.

Die Benediktiner betreuen seit 1455 die Wallfahrt. Sie leben nach der Regel des Heiligen Benedikt, die gerne auf die Kurzformel „ora et labora – bete und arbeite“ gebracht wird. Jahr für Jahr kommen über 30.000 organisierte Pilger aus über 130 Wallfahrtsgemeinden zum Heiligen Berg. In der Spitze legen die Gruppen an einem Tag bis zu 50 km zurück zu Fuß zurück, um nach Andechs zu kommen.


Aha! Cool ...

Seit der Eröffnung des Münchner Jakobsweges von München nach Lindau im Jahr 2003 kommen zudem viele Einzelpilger nach Andechs, die – meist vom Starnberger See kommend - eine Nacht bleiben, und am nächsten Tag Ihre Pilgerreise in Richtung Dießen fortsetzen.

Das Kloster Andechs, von weither sichtbar auf dem Heiligen Berg über dem Ostufer des Ammersees gelegen, ist der älteste Wallfahrtsort Bayerns und seit 1850 Wirtschaftsgut der Benediktinerabtei Sankt Bonifaz in München. 

Die Gemeinde Andechs liegt mit 600 Meter Flur direkt am Ammersee. Deshalb muss es heißen Andechs am Ammersee.

Übersichtstafel am Parkplatz zum "Heiligen Berg"



Unglaublich 


Der "Kiwi Tag"

Die Zeiten, als bis zu 1000 Touristen aus Neuseeland und Australien über das beschauliche Andechs hereinbrachen, um sich hier auf das Oktoberfest einzustimmen, sind wohl vorbei. Dennoch jedes Jahr am letzten Donnerstag vor dem Oktoberfest treffen sich Australier und Neuseeländer zum sogenannten „Kiwi-Tag“ im Kloster Andechs, knapp 50 Kilometer südwestlich von München.

Im Biergarten der Kloster-Brauerei trainieren sie ihre Trinkfestigkeit für das anstehende Oktoberfest. Das bayerische Bier ist stärker und preiswerter als das australische - das Training soll helfen, diese fatale Kombination besser zu verkraften.




Was gibt es prickelndes zu sehen?


Klosterbrauerei ...

Die Klosterbrauerei ist heute in Deutschland die größte von nur noch wenigen authentischen Klosterbrauereien, die eine existierende Ordensgemeinschaft konzernunabhängig führt. Sie gehört den Benediktinern von St. Bonifaz in München & Andechs. Gebraut und abgefüllt wird nur vor Ort in Andechs.

Im Jahr 1455 kamen die ersten sieben Mönche von Tegernsee nach Andechs. Die waren es auch, die das Bier auf den Berg brachten. Ohne die klösterliche Brautradition wäre das Reinheitsgebot gar nicht möglich gewesen. Klöster waren immer auch Kulturzentren. Im Mittelalter konnten oft nur Mönche lesen und schreiben. So gaben sie ihr Wissen über Jahrhunderte hinweg weiter, das gilt vor allem auch für das Brauwesen.

Mit Ora et Labora - Beten und Arbeiten - ist es heute nicht mehr getan, will ein Benediktinerkloster überleben. Mit den Einnahmen vom Heiligen Berg werden das Klosterleben sowie das soziale und kulturelle Engagement der beiden Häuser finanziert. Damit das Zukunft hat, investierte die Abtei zwölf Millionen Euro in die Erweiterung der Klosterbrauerei Andechs.

100 000 Hektoliter Bier werden pro Jahr auf dem Heiligen Berg gebraut und abgefüllt, Helles, Spezial, Dunkles, Bockbier, Weißbier mit und ohne Alkohol. Das soll so bleiben, darum auch die Millionen-Investition. Es wird eine neue Halle gebaut, in der künftig das Leergut gelagert werden kann - bis zu 1500 Paletten mit 1,2 Millionen Halbe-Liter-Flaschen.

Logo Andechs

Dort hat auch eine neue Füllanlage Platz, die in der Stunde 24 000 Flaschen schafft. Für das Kloster ist das die größte Einzelinvestition seit dem Neubau der Brauerei in den Achtzigerjahren. Zu den zwölf Millionen Euro kommen noch 20 Millionen für die Generalsanierung der Klostergebäude von Sankt Bonifaz, die erste umfassende Instandsetzung seit dem Wiederaufbau nach 1945.


Benediktiner denken nicht in Quartalen, 

sondern in Jahrhunderten…!


Rund fünf Prozent des Ausstoßes des Andechser Klosterbieres wird auf dem Heiligen Berg im Andechser Bräustüberl, auf der Terrasse und im Klostergasthof ausgeschenkt, der Begegnungsstätte bayerischer Lebensart und Treffpunkt vielfältiger Kulturen.




Ausruhen und genießen ...

Wer nach Genuss für Leib und Seele sucht, dem sei der Ausflug auf den "Heiligen Berg" empfohlen. Mit angegliederter Brauerei, Bräustüberl, Klostergasthof und einem umfangreichen kulturellen Programm ist das Kloster heute Anziehungspunkt für ca. 1 Million Besucher p.a. aus der ganzen Welt.

Wie bereits erwähnt, es gibt drei kulinarische Orte: das traditionelle Bräustüberl mit seiner großen Terrasse und dem herrlichen Rundblick auf das Alpenvorland, den Klostergasthof mit gehobener bayrischer Gastronomie oder den Biergarten mit seinen schattigen Kastanienbäumen gegenüber dem Klostergasthof.

Zu den Köstlichkeiten aus der Klostermetzgerei passt natürlich am besten ein frischgezapftes Andechser Klosterbier oder auch die Andechser Alkoholfreien, die im Bräustüberl ausgeschenkt werden. Als besonderes Schmankerl gibt es hier ein Tablett mit einer Auswahl an Bieren. Sechs der acht Biere befinden sich darunter. Allgemein gibt es drei Helle, zwei Dunkle und drei Weißbiersorten.

„Das Andechser Gefühl besteht darin, nie allein zu sein“, so Josef Eckl verantwortlich für die Gastronomie auf Andechs. Und nach wie vor ist Eckl stolz darauf, dass sich im Bräustüberl traditionsgemäß jeder seine Brotzeit selbst mitbringen darf, sofern er das möchte.

Schon um 21 Uhr ist es in Andechs ruhig, man hört nur noch das Klappern von Geschirr, das Schrubben eines Besens. Es wird aufgeräumt. Das Bräustüberls schließt früh. „Die Mönche möchten Ihre Ruhe haben“.



Beten und Bechern ...

Die Trunk Tradition Beten und Bechern

 wird bekanntlich bis zum heutigen Tag intensiv gepflegt

– ein Geschäftsmodell, dass seit über 500 Jahren perfekt funktioniert….




Kloster Andechs

 Bergstraße 2,

82346 Andechs



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the author

Es ist wertvoller einen Ort im Detail zu erleben, als viele kleine Eindrücke eines unbegreifbaren Ganzen. Genius Loci - den Geist eines Ortes für sich zu entdecken, einzufangen und zu erleben. Wahrnehmen - verstehen - genießen! Als diplomierter Wirtschaftsingenieur mit zusätzlichem MBA-Studium an renommierter Universität in England (EMBA, EQUIS und AACSB akkreditiert) habe ich mehr als 30 Jahre auf C-Level (Vorstand Marketing und Vertrieb weltweit) für andere oft überraschende Wege zum Erfolg aufgezeigt.

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>