June 18

0 comments

Royal Heart Burial - "Eternal Hearts..."

By Frank

June 18, 2020


"Home is where the heart is

this sentence applies in particular to the Bavarian ruling family of the Wittelsbachs. From the 17th to the 20th century, they had their hearts buried in the wall niches of the Chapel of Grace in Altötting .



Historical background:

The ancients were all about the symbolism of the heart . The Greeks, later the Etruscans and Romans, but especially the ancient Egyptians saw the heart as the central organ . It was considered the seat of the mind, character and soul . This view was adopted by the Jews and the early Christians.

In 1311 , the Council of Vienne ruled that the human soul resided in the whole body , not just the heart. This council, convened by Pope Clement V , also dealt with the dissolution of the Templar Order . Jacques de Molay, last Grand Master of the Templars , is said to have cursed Pope Clement V at the stake in Paris on March 19, 1314 and threatened to kill him within a year. The Pope died on April 20, 1314 .

The separate burial of the intestines was practiced long before the ruling dynasties such as the Habsburgs and Wittelsbachs . Especially during the Crusades, when many crusaders died far from home , it was customary to remove their organs and boil the corpse in red wine in order to be able to survive the long return journey better.



Aha! Cool ....

The heart burial developed from the burial of the intestines , ie in the Middle Ages mostly chest and abdominal intestines were removed, among other things to slow down the decomposition of the body. The thoracic viscera ( prerecordia) were usually removed by a longitudinal incision in the sternum , the abdominal viscera (viscera) by another longitudinal incision from the xiphoid process to the pubic bone.

And who performed the redemption of the heart ? Before sections were allowed, these were monks who had accompanied the dying or other members of the entourage . Later then physicians, surgeons (who at that time did not belong to the medical profession) or barbers , from the 18th century then personal physicians or physicians of the university , from the 19th century also famous pathologists .

In addition to the heart burial, there were also the double burial of and corpus and the triple burial heart-guts-corpus, for example with the Habsburgs, the Wittelsbachs or the Würzburg prince-bishops. Heart burials were mostly in churches.


Thanatology - what is it?

Thanatology or thanatopraxy is the professional application and implementation of measures on the deceased body in order to temporarily preserve it or to carry out reconstructive measures.

The thanatological care of the deceased is also referred to as " modern embalming " - i.e. a modern form of embalming . When most people think of embalming, they think of ancient Egypt and mummies. But apart from the name, the modern form has nothing in common with the embalming of yesteryear.



Unbelievable- Number of heart burials!

Heart burials were particularly widespread in the 16th and 17th centuries . According to the book "Eternal Hearts - Small Cultural History of Heart Burials, the following figures have been handed down: in the 12th century: around 20 heart burials ; 13th - 16th centuries: over 200 heart burials ; 17th century: around 190 heart burials ; 18th century: around 120 Heart burials , 19th and 20th centuries: about 45 heart burials .

A modern representative of this custom is the inventor of the Summer Olympics , Pierre de Coubertin. He had decreed that his heart be buried in a memorial column in Olympia, Greece , in front of the ancient stadium ( 1937 ).


The Guts of the Popes

Of course, most people look to the Trevi Fountain. Few take notice of the church behind them: ready-made baroque (as in hundreds of places in the Eternal City). It is a basilica dedicated to the martyrs Vincentius and Anastasius - the bowels of the popes rest here.

The Roman dialect poet Giuseppe Gioacchino Belli called it a "museum of entrails and intestines". You sniff involuntarily, but if it smells unpleasantly sweet, then it's definitely just the rose incense of the Bulgarian Orthodox, who occasionally celebrate services here...

The perishable parts, according to the rector of the church, are tightly sealed in earthenware jars embedded in the masonry on the sides of the altar. He says he saw the narrow corridor with the urn depots only once, when he made sure of the dilapidated stairs there. He made an expression as if the curse of the pharaohs lay over the place...

The successors of the apostles are to be given a dignified farewell after their death, and the papal funeral ritual has a nine-day mourning service. In the past, the deceased was laid out for a considerable period of time. This created problems in the Roman summer months. The intestines had to come out so that the dead didn't bloat themselves into monsters...


"What is sown perishable, what is raised imperishable"

(Word of the Apostle Paul)




What's exciting to see?

Chapel of Mercy in Altötting

Altoetting- Chapel of Mercy and Treasury

Pope Benedict XVI called this holy district. once like this:

"Heart of Bavaria and one of the hearts of Europe"

The Black Madonna of Altötting probably dates from the beginning of the 14th century . Many healings through her intercession are attested. She is the reason that every year hundreds of thousands of pilgrims flock to the most famous Marian pilgrimage site in Germany to see the 66 cm tall statue in the Chapel of Grace.

Supposedly it was carved out of wood on the Upper Rhine in 1330 and then, according to tradition, finally came to Altötting via the Raitenhaslach Cistercian monastery .

A visit to the Black Madonna in the Chapel of Grace is not only recommended for believers, but for all art lovers. The visitor magnets include around 2,000 votive and 50 miracle tablets as well as the heart urns of the Bavarian kings and princes . Equally impressive is the historic monumental cyclorama and UNESCO memorial Jerusalem Panorama Crucifixion of Christ .

Probably one of the most famous images of Mary and pilgrimage destination in the world: three popes have already made pilgrimages to the Black Madonna in the Chapel of Mercy in Altötting : Pope Pius VI. in 1782, John Paul II in 1980 and in 2006 Pope Benedict XVI.

A total of three burials (1633, 1634 and 1666) took place in the Chapel of Mercy. In addition, 28 heart burials took place over a period of more than 300 years .

Visible in niches are, among other things:

  1. King Ludwig I (+1868)
  2. King Ludwig II (+1886)
  3. King Otto (+1916) - was replaced as regent by Prince Regent Luitpold due to illness
  4. King Louis III. (+1921)


The urns set up in the wall niches are exclusively made of silver, e.g. T. gilded and decorated with precious stones . The number of heart urns in this material and artistic quality in one place is unique in the world!


However, the term "Altötting - Heart of Bavaria " does not refer to the fact that most heart burials took place here, but rather

the place has been the Christian religious center of Bavaria for centuries .




Chapel of Mercy in Altötting

Chapel Square,

84503 Altötting



About the author

It is more valuable to experience a place in detail than many small impressions of an incomprehensible whole.

Genius Loci - discovering, capturing and experiencing the spirit of a place. Perceive - understand - enjoy!

As a graduate industrial engineer with an additional MBA degree from a renowned university in England (EMBA, EQUIS and AACSB accredited), I have been showing other, often surprising, paths to success for more than 30 years at C-Level (Head of Marketing and Sales worldwide).

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>

Juni 18

0 comments

Königliche Herzbestattung – „Ewige Herzen…“

By Frank

Juni 18, 2020


"Home is where the heart is

dieser Satz gilt im Besonderen für das bayerische Herrschergeschlecht der Wittelsbacher. Denn diese ließen vom 17. bis ins 20. Jahrhundert ihre Herzen in den Wandnischen der Gnadenkapelle von Altötting beisetzen.



Geschichtlicher Hintergrund:

In der Antike ging es um die Symbolik des Herzens. Die Griechen, später die Etrusker und Römer, insbesondere aber die alten Ägypter sahen im Herz das zentrale Organ. Es galt als Sitz des Gemüts, des Charakters und der Seele. Diese Auffassung übernahmen die Juden und die frühen Christen.

Im Jahr 1311 entschied das Konzil von Vienne, dass die Seele des Menschen im ganzen Körper beheimatet wäre, nicht nur im Herzen. Dieses Konzil, einberufen von Papst Clemens V. befasste sich unter anderem auch mit der Auflösung des Templerordens. Jacques de Molay, letzter Großmeister der Templer, soll am 19. März 1314 auf dem Scheiterhaufen in Paris, Papst Clemens V. verflucht haben und ihm mit dem Tod binnen Jahresfrist gedroht haben. Der Papst starb am 20. April 1314.

Die getrennte Eingeweidebestattung wurde schon lange vor den Herrschergeschlechtern wie den Habsburgern und Wittelsbachern praktiziert. Speziell während der Kreuzzüge, als viele Kreuzfahrer fern der Heimat verstarben, war es üblich ihre Organe zu entnehmen, den Leichnam mit Rotwein auszukochen, um so den langen Rücktransport besser überstehen zu können.



Aha! Cool ....

Die Herzbestattung hat sich aus der Eingeweidebestattung entwickelt, d.h. im Mittelalter wurden meist Brust- und Baucheingeweide entnommen, unter anderem auch um die Verwesung des Körpers zu verlangsamen. Die Brusteingeweide (Precordia) wurden meist durch ein längs aufgeschnittenes Brustbein, die Baucheingeweide (Viscera) durch einen weiteren Längsschnitt vom Schwertfortsatz bis zum Schambein entfernt.

Und wer vollzog die Herauslösung des Herzens? Vor der Erlaubnis von Sektionen waren dies Mönche, die den Sterbenden begleitet hatten, oder sonstige Personen aus der Entourage. Später dann Ärzte, Chirurgen (die damals nicht zum Ärztestand zählten) oder Bader, ab dem 18.Jahrhundert dann Leibärzte oder Ärzte der Universität, ab dem 19.Jahrhundert auch berühmte Pathologen.

Neben der Herzbestattung gabe es auch die Zweifachbestattung von und Corpus und die Dreifachbestattung Herz-Eingeweide-Corpus, zum Beispiel bei den Habsburgern, den Wittelsbachern oder den Würzburger Fürstbischöfen. Herzbestattungen erfolgten überwiegend in Kirchen.


Thanatologie - was ist das?

Unter Thanatologie oder auch Thanatopraxie versteht man die fachgerechte Anwendung und Durchführung von Maßnahmen am verstorbenen Körper um diesen zeitweise haltbar zu machen oder rekonstruierende Maßnahmen durchzuführen.

Die thanatologische Versorgung Verstorbener bezeichnet man auch als „Modern Embalming“ – also eine moderne Form der Einbalsamierung. Bei dem Begriff „Einbalsamierung“ denken die meisten zuerst an das alte Ägypten und an Mumien. Doch außer dem Namen hat die moderne Form mit der Einbalsamierung von damals nichts mehr gemein. 



Unglaublich - Anzahl der Herzbestattungen!

Herzbestattungen waren vor allem im 16. und 17.Jahrhundert stärker verbreitet. Laut dem Buch "Ewige Herzen - Kleine Kulturgeschichte von Herzbestattungen sind folgende Zahlen überliefert: im 12.Jahrhundert: etwa 20 Herzbestattungen; 13. - 16.Jahrhundert: über 200 Herzbestattungen; 17.Jahrhundert: etwa 190 Herzbestattungen, 18.Jahrhundert: etwa 120 Herzbestattungen, 19. und 20.Jahrhundert: etwa 45 Herzbestattungen.

Ein moderner Vertreter dieses Brauchs ist etwa der Erfinder der Olympischen Sommerspiele, Pierre de Coubertin. Er hatte verfügt, dass sein Herz in einer Gedenksäule im griechischen Olympia vor dem antiken Stadion beigesetzt wird (1937).


Die Eingeweide der Päpste

Die meisten gucken natürlich zum Trevibrunnen. Wenige nehmen Notiz von der Kirche in ihrem Rücken: Barock von der Stange (wie an hunderten Orten in der ewigen Stadt). Eshandelt sich um eine Basilika, die den Märtyrern Vincentius und Anastasius gewidmet ist - hier ruhen die Eingeweide der Päpste.

Ein "Museum der Geschlinge und Gedärme" nannte es der römische Mundartdichter Giuseppe Gioacchino Belli. Man schnuppert unwillkürlich, aber wenn es unangenehm süßlich riecht, dann ist es garantiert nur der Rosenweihrauch der Bulgarisch-Orthodoxen, die hier gelegentlich Gottesdienst feiern...

Die vergänglichen Teile, so der Rektor der Kirche, dicht versiegelt in Tonkrügen, eingelassen ins Mauerwerk zu den Seiten des Altares. Er sagt, er habe den engen Gang mit den Urnendepots nur ein einziges Mal gesehen, als er sich von der Baufälligkeit der dort befindlichen Treppe überzeugte. Er machte eine Miene, als liege der Fluch der Pharaonen über dem Ort...

Die Apostelnachfolger sollen nach ihrem Tod würdig verabschiedet werden, und das päpstliche Begräbnisritual kennt dafür eine neuntägige Trauerfeier. Früher war der Verstorbene dabei für einen beträchtlichen Zeitraum aufgebahrt. In den römischen Sommermonaten schuf das Probleme. Die Eingeweide mussten raus, damit die Toten sich nicht zu Monstren aufblährten...


"Was gesät wird, ist verweslich, was auferweckt wird ist unverweslich" 

(Wort des Apostel Paulus)




Was gibt es Prickelndes zu sehen?

Gnadenkapelle in Altötting

Altötting - Gnadenkapelle und Schatzkammer

Diesen heiligen Bezirk bezeichnete Papst Benedikt XVI. einst wie folgt:

"Herz Bayerns und eines der Herzen Europas"

Die schwarze Madonna von Altötting stammt wahrscheinlich vom Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts. Viele Heilungen auf ihre Fürsprache sind bezeugt. Sie ist der Grund dafür, dass jedes Jahr Hundertausende Pilger in den bekanntesten Marienwallfahrtsort in Deutschland strömen, um die 66 cm große Statue in der Gnadenkapelle zu sehen.

Angeblich wurde sie im Jahr 1330 am Oberrhein aus Holz geschnitzt und kam dann der Überlieferung nach über das Zisterzienserkloster Raitenhaslach letztendlich nach Altötting. 

Ein Besuch der Schwarzen Madonna in der Gnadenkapelle empfiehlt sich nicht nur den Gläubigen, sondern allen Kunstliebhabern. Zu den Besuchermagneten gehören die rund 2.000 Votiv- und 50 Mirakeltafeln sowie die Herzurnen der bayerischen Könige und Fürsten. Ebenso eindrucksvoll ist das historische Monumentalrundgemälde und UNESCO-Denkmal Jerusalem-Panorama Kreuzigung Christi.

Wohl eines der berühmtesten Marienbildnisse und Wallfahrtsziele der Welt: Bereits drei Päpste sind zur Schwarzen Madonna in der Gnadenkapelle zu Altötting gepilgert: Papst Pius VI. im Jahr 1782, Johannes Paul II. im Jahr 1980 und im Jahr 2006 Papst Benedikt XVI.

In der Gnadenkapelle fanden insgesamt drei Körperbestattungen (1633, 1634 und 1666) statt. Daneben erfolgten über einen Zeitraum von mehr als 300 Jahren 28 Herzbestattungen

Sichtbar in Nischen aufgestellt sind unter anderem:

  1. König Ludwig I. (+1868)
  2. König Ludwig II. (+1886)
  3. König Otto (+1916) - wurde wegen Krankheit von Prinzregent Luitpold als Regent vertreten
  4. König Ludwig III. (+1921)


Die in den Mauernischen aufgestellten Urnen sind ausschließlich aus Silber, z. T. vergoldet und mit Edelsteinen geschmückt. Die Anzahl von Herzurnen in dieser materiellen und künstlerischen Qualität an einem Platz ist weltweit einzigartig!


Der Begriff "Altötting - Herz Bayerns" bezieht sich jedoch nicht auf die Tatsache, dass hier die meisten Herzbestattungen stattfanden, sondern

der Ort seit Jahrhunderten christlich religiöses Zentrum Bayerns ist.




Gnadenkapelle Altötting

Kapellplatz, 

84503 Altötting



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About the author

Es ist wertvoller einen Ort im Detail zu erleben, als viele kleine Eindrücke eines unbegreifbaren Ganzen. Genius Loci - den Geist eines Ortes für sich zu entdecken, einzufangen und zu erleben. Wahrnehmen - verstehen - genießen! Als diplomierter Wirtschaftsingenieur mit zusätzlichem MBA-Studium an renommierter Universität in England (EMBA, EQUIS und AACSB akkreditiert) habe ich mehr als 30 Jahre auf C-Level (Vorstand Marketing und Vertrieb weltweit) für andere oft überraschende Wege zum Erfolg aufgezeigt.

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>