February 8

0 comments

Milk is not just milk - country cheese dairy in Kreuth

By Frank

February 8, 2023


In 2007, a good dozen farmers from the Tegernsee Valley decided to take responsibility for the quality, processing and marketing of their milk themselves. Why? Because what was produced with a lot of commitment and deep conviction was devalued from many sides: the price of milk was in free fall , the reputation of milk was repeatedly shaken by scandals.


Aha! Cool ...

When we say "milk" we always mean cow's milk . Milk is the basis of nutrition for all newborns , from the day they are born until the small mammals can feed on their own . The first milk is not only particularly rich in nutrients but also in immune substances . This first milk is called colostrum and in cows "colostrum" .

Cow's milk is produced in the udder . The cow's udder contains an incalculable number of very small milk sacs . The milk sacs filter those ingredients from the blood that together make milk: protein, fat and lactose, calcium and other minerals, and many vitamins .

The fine milk ducts absorb the milk, flow together and end in the four teats of the cow's udder. So blood becomes milk . Approximately 400 liters of blood flow through the udder to produce one liter of milk. The performance is also admirable because it is accomplished by normal dairy cows 300 days a year - and that practically for their whole life.

There are around 4.1 million dairy cows in the dairy industry in Germany. About a third of them live in Bavaria, a fifth in Lower Saxony and 10% in North Rhine-Westphalia. Around 26 billion euros in sales are generated in the dairy industry. The share of Germany with 32,493 tons of milk represented in the 19 countries of the EU is a whopping 25%.



The distribution of the number of dairy cows by federal state emphasizes the importance of Bavaria:

  • Bayern  -  1.154.373   [28%]
  • Lower Saxony - 849,192 [21%]
  • NRW - 409,192 [10%]
  • all other federal states together [31%]


Facts about cow husbandry that are usually kept from the general public:

  • 13% of the calves will not a year old – affects around 700,000 young animals in Bavaria alone
  • After 18 months insemination for 1st calf (only then does the cow produce milk)
  • Lactation: 305 days per year
  • A cow is about 5 years old - she could be 15-20 years old
Milk is not just milk - country cheese dairy in Kreuth


"Mathematics" of dairy farmers


If a cow gives birth to a calf every year , the herd doubles - that's why farmers sort every year an average of 37% of the herd from:

  • 41% diseases (udder, hooves, metabolism...)
  • 19% fertility disorders (every 4th cow is slaughtered for this reason)

high-performance cows

vs

happy cows

50s: 2500 liters of milk per cow and year


Today : 9000 liters (top cows up to 19,000 liters )


Farmers used to be proud of dairy cows with a lifetime production of 100,000 liters of milk . That's the amount of milk cows gave in 15-20 years...

Today there are high-performance cows that give 30,000 liters per year . That's an average of 100 liters per day! The heart of such a cow has to pump 40,000 liters of blood per day through the udder.


No wonder that a high-performance cow is completely exhausted after a few years.


A modern dairy cow today gives an average of 50 liters of milk per day . 1 liter of milk contains 4% fat and 3.5% protein .

The cow loses 2kg of fat a day with the milk (about 10 packets of butter!)

Your daily milk contains 1.75 kg of pure protein - as much as 230 chicken eggs ! The dairy cow has to produce these amounts of ingredients every day and eat a corresponding amount . And she can't do that with hay and grass. You feed completely different feeds...


A happy cow in the pasture gives only 20-25 liters of milk. The milk from the grazing cow is richer, with more protein and healthier fat!





Unbelievable - pasteurization only benefits the dairy industry!

The fact that man wants to drink the cow's milk but at the same time refuses to suckle directly from her udder (presumably for aesthetic reasons) is in itself strange enough. The milk for sale everywhere today has nothing to do with the milk which arises from the udder .

What happens to the milk - 9 steps before it reaches the consumer?

  1. Milked by machine, then
  2. subjected to unnatural cooling,
  3. stored for a few days, then
  4. heated,
  5. homogenized
  6. reduced or adjusted in fat content,
  7. pumped through endless steel pipes at top speed and high pressure.
  8. chased through a bottling line and finally - as a meanwhile artificial product
  9. in glass, but mostly filled in coated plastic bags


Calloused peasant hands are no longer milking today. The person who is in charge of the dairy cows on a dairy farm (it used to be called the barn…) is called the production or plant manager and should have the title “ Diploma agricultural engineer , specializing in animal production with a focus on cattle ”.

Milking by hand is not only tiring, but also frowned upon by health and veterinary authorities for reasons of hygiene.


Under natural circumstances, milk never sees the light of day

It is drunk by the infant "straight from the source". However, if it comes into contact with light and air - completely contrary to its purpose - it must - as nature wants - be destroyed as quickly as possible, ie broken down by bacteria .



Milk is a real magnet for microorganisms . They multiply in the milk and compost it. However, the settlement of so-called pathogens cannot be recognized by the taste. Milk is therefore heated as a precaution before it goes on sale. This is called pasteurization.

In nature, cow's milk is never confronted with temperatures that are above or below the cow's body temperature (approx. 38 degrees).

In addition to being cooled, the milk is now subjected to the opposite during food processing , namely heating to at least 72 degrees Celsius (pasteurization) and to around 135 degrees Celsius during ultra-high heating (here the result is called “ UHT milk ”).

Bacteria that the infant (calf) drinks with its mother's milk are microorganisms that help it develop a strong immune system . Pasteurized milk, on the other hand, is a lifeless thing. But why does the calf often die after six months at the latest if it only receives pasteurized milk from its mother ?

Pasteurization and all the other processes used to treat milk benefit the dairy industry , nobody else! The sensitive substance can now be stored in huge quantities , transported over long distances and easily processed into all kinds of products without being surprised by sudden spoilage .

In 1937 , at the 11th Milk Congress in Berlin, the head of the Bacteriological Institute of the Prussian Research and Testing Institute announced:

"In view of the tuberculosis diseases in cows, pasteurization is necessary until the conditions at the place of milk production meet hygienic requirements . Then there should be a supply of raw milk.”

Pasteurization was originally only an emergency and temporary solution!



What is there to see or taste sparkling?

In the mountaineering village of Kreuth (previously described as closely linked to the founding of the Tegernsee monastery at the foot of the Wallberg) is the natural cheese dairy Tegernseer Land. The cooperative was founded in 2007 with the aim of practicing honest, sustainable agriculture and creating high-quality products from fresh hay milk .


A taste experience!

Try it…

Milk is not just milk - country cheese dairy in Kreuth

natural cheese dairy



Tegernsee country cheese dairy

Reißenbichlweg 1

83708 Kreuth



About the author

It is more valuable to experience a place in detail than many small impressions of an incomprehensible whole.

Genius Loci - discovering, capturing and experiencing the spirit of a place. Perceive - understand - enjoy!

As a graduate industrial engineer with an additional MBA degree from a renowned university in England (EMBA, EQUIS and AACSB accredited), I have been showing other, often surprising, paths to success for more than 30 years at C-Level (Head of Marketing and Sales worldwide).

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>

Februar 8

0 comments

Milch ist nicht gleich Milch – Landkäserei in Kreuth

By Frank

Februar 8, 2023


2007 entschloss sich ein gutes Dutzend Landwirte aus dem Tegernseer Tal, die Verantwortung für Qualität, Veredelung und Vermarktung ihrer Milch selbst in die Hand zu nehmen. Warum? Weil das, was mit viel Einsatz und tiefer Überzeugung produzierten, von vielen Seiten entwertet wurde: Der Milchpreis war im freien Fall, der Ruf der Milch wurde immer wieder durch Skandale erschüttert.


Aha! Cool ...

Wenn wir „Milch“ sagen meinen wir stets Kuhmilch. Milch ist die Ernährungsgrundlage für alle Neugeborenen, ab dem Tag der Geburt bis die kleinen Säugetiere allein fressen können. Die erste Milch ist dabei nicht nur besonders reich an Nährstoffen sondern auch an Immunstoffen. Diese erste Milch nennt man Kolostrum und bei Kühen „Biestmilch“.

Kuhmilch entsteht im Euter. Der Kuheuter enthält eine unermessliche Zahl sehr kleiner Milchbläschen. Die Milchbläschen filtern diejenigen Inhaltsstoffe aus dem Blut, die in Ihrer Gesamtheit Milch ergeben: Eiweiß, Fett und Milchzucker, Kalzium und andere Mineralstoffe sowie viele Vitamine.

Die feinen Milchkanäle nehmen die Milch auf, fließen zusammen und münden in die vier Zitzen des Kuh-Euters. Aus Blut wird also Milch. Für die Bildung von einem Liter Milch fließen ca. 400 Liter Blut durch das Euter. Bewundernswert ist die Leistung auch, weil sie von normalen Milchkühen an 300 Tagen im Jahr vollbracht wird – und dass quasi ihr Leben lang.

In der Milchindustrie in Deutschland gibt es rund 4,1 Mio Milchkühe. Ungefähr ein Drittel davon leben in Bayern, ein Fünftel in Niedersachsen und 10% in Nordrheinwestfalen. Rund 26 Mrd. Euro Umsatz werden in der Milchwirtschaft generiert. Der Anteil Deutschlands mit 32.493 Tonnen Milch repräsentiert in den 19 Ländern der EU beträgt satte 25%.



Die Verteilung der Anzahl Milchkühe nach Bundesland hebt die Wichtigkeit Bayerns hervor:

  • Bayern  -  1.154.373   [28%]
  • Niedersachsen  -  849.192   [21%]
  • NRW  -  409.192   [10%]
  • alle anderen Bundesländer zusammen   [31%]


Fakten zur Kuhhaltung, die der Allgemeinheit eher verschwiegen werden:

  • 13% der Kälber werden kein Jahr alt – betrifft ca. 700.000 Jungtiere allein in Bayern
  • Nach 18 Monaten Besamung für 1.Kalb (erst dann produziert die Kuh Milch)
  • Laktation: 305 Tage pro Jahr
  • Eine Kuh wird etwa 5 Jahre alt – dabei könnte sie 15-20 Jahre alt werden
Milch ist nicht gleich Milch – Landkäserei  in Kreuth


"Mathematik" der Milchbaueren


Wenn eine Kuh pro Jahr ein Kalb gebärt, verdoppelt sich die Herde - deswegen sortieren die Landwirte jedes Jahr durchschnittlich 37% der Herde aus:

  • 41% Krankheiten (Euter, Klauen, Stoffwechsel…)
  • 19 % Fruchtbarkeitsstörungen (jede 4.Kuh wird deswegen geschlachtet)

Hochleistungs-kühe

vs

glückliche  Kühe

50er Jahre:           2500 Liter Milch pro Kuh und Jahr


Heute:   9000 Liter (Spitzenkühe bis zu 19.000 Liter)


Früher waren Bauern stolz auf Milchkühe mit einer Lebensleistung von 100.000 Litern Milch. Diese Milchmengen hatten Kühe in 15 – 20 Jahren gegeben…

Heute gibt es Hochleistungskühe, die 30.000 Liter pro Jahr geben. Das sind durchschnittlich 100 Liter pro Tag! Das Herz einer solchen Kuh muss 40.000 Liter Blut pro Tag durch das Euter pumpen.


Kein Wunder, dass eine Hochleistungskuh nach wenigen Jahren vollkommen ausgelaugt ist.


Eine moderne Milchkuh heute gibt pro Tag im Durchschnitt 50 Liter Milch. 1 Liter Milch enthält 4% Fett und 3,5% Eiweiß.

Die Kuh verliert mit der Milch täglich 2kg Fett (ungefähr 10 Päckchen Butter!)

In Ihrer Tagesmilch sind 1,75kg reines Eiweiß – so viel wie in 230 Hühnereiern! Diese Mengen an Inhaltsstoffen muss die Milchkuh jeden Tag produzieren und entsprechend viel fressen. Und – das schafft sie nicht mit Heu und Gras. Man füttert ganz andere Futtermittel…


Eine glückliche Kuh auf der Weide gibt nur 20-25 Liter Milch. Die Milch der grasenden Kuh ist gehaltvoller, mit mehr Eiweiß und gesünderem Fett!





Unglaublich - Pasteurisierung nützt nur der Milchindustrie!

Die Tatsache, dass der Mensch die Milch der Kuh trinken will, aber gleichzeitig das Saugen direkt von ihrem Euter (vermutlich aus ästhetischen Gründen ablehnt, ist an sich seltsam genug. Die heute überall zum Verkauf stehende Milch hat nichts mehr mit der Milch zu tun, die dem Euter entspringt.

Was geschieht mit der Milch – 9 Schritte bevor sie beim Verbraucher eintrifft?

  1. Maschinell gemolken, sodann
  2. einer unnatürlichen Kühlung unterzogen,
  3. einige Tage lang gelagert, dann
  4. erhitzt,
  5. homogenisiert
  6. im Fettgehalt reduziert oder angepasst,
  7. mit Höchstgeschwindigkeit und hohem Druck durch endlose Stahlrohre gepumpt.
  8. durch eine Abfüllstrasse gejagt und schließlich – als mittlerweile künstliches Produkt
  9. in Glas, meistens aber in beschichtete Kunststofftüten abgefüllt


Heute melken keine schwieligen Bauernhände mehr. Derjenige, der die Aufsicht über die Milchkühe eines Milchbetriebes (früher hieß das Stall…) hat, wird Produktions- bzw. Anlagenleiter genannt und sollte den Titel „Diplom Agraringenieur, Fachrichtung Tierproduktion mit Schwerpunkt Rind“ tragen. 

Melken von Hand ist nicht nur anstrengend, sondern auch aus Hygiene von Gesundheits- und Veterinärämtern nicht gerne gesehen.


Unter  natürlichen Umständen  erblickt  Milch  niemals  das Tageslicht

Sie wird vom Säugling „direkt aus der Quelle“ getrunken.  Kommt sie nun aber - völlig entgegen ihrer Bestimmung – mit Licht und Luft in Berührung, muss sie - so will es die Natur – schnellstmöglich vernichtet, d.h. durch Bakterien abgebaut werden.



Milch ist ein regelrechter Magnet für Mikroorganismen. Sie vermehren sich in der Milch und kompostieren sie. Die Ansiedlung von sog. Krankheitserregern lässt sich am Geschmack jedoch nicht gleiche erkennen. Deshalb wird Milch vorsorglich erhitzt, bevor sie in den Handel kommt. Das nennt man pasteurisieren.

In der Natur wird Kuhmilch nie mit Temperaturen konfrontiert, die über oder unter der Kuhkörpertemperatur (ca. 38 Grad) liegen.

Während der lebensmitteltechnologischen Verarbeitung erfährt die Milch neben der Kühlung jetzt das Gegenteil, nämlich eine Erhitzung auf mindestens 72 Grad Celsius (Pasteurisieren) und auf etwa 135 Grad Celsius bei der Ultrahocherhitzung (hier nennt man das Ergebnis „H-Milch).

Bakterien, die der Säugling (Kalb) mit der Muttermilch trinkt, sind Mikroorganismen, die ihm helfen ein starkes Immunsystem zu entwickeln. Pasteurisierte Milch hingegen ist eine leblose Angelegenheit. Warum aber stirbt das Kalb oft nach spätestens einem halben Jahr, wenn es ausschließlich der Milch seiner Mutter in pasteurisierter Form erhält?

Pasteurisierung und all die anderen Verfahren, mit denen Milch behandelt wird, nützen der Milchindustrie, sonst niemandem! Man kann die empfindliche Substanz nämlich jetzt in riesigen Mengen auf Vorrat lagern, über weite Strecken transportieren und problemlos zu allerlei Produkten weiterverarbeiten, ohne von plötzlichem Verderb überrascht zu werden.

Im Jahre 1937 wurde vom Leiter des Bakteriologischen Instituts der Preußischen Versuchs- und Forschungsanstalt beim 11. Milchkongress in Berlin verkündet:

„angesichts der Tuberkuloseerkrankungen bei Kühen ergibt sich die Notwendigkeit einer Pasteurisierung, bis die Verhältnisse am Orte der Milcherzeugung den hygienischen Belangen entsprechen. Dann soll eine Rohmilchversorgung eintreten.“ 

Die Pasteurisierung war also ursprünglich nur eine Not- und Übergangslösung!



Was gibt es prickelndes zu sehen bzw. schmecken?

Im Bergsteigerdorf Kreuth, (zuvor beschrieben als eng verknüpft mit der Gründung des Klosters Tegernsee am Fuße des Wallbergs) liegt die Naturkäserei Tegernseer Land. Gegründet wurde die Genossenschaft 2007 mit dem Ziel, ehrliche, nachhaltige Landwirtschaft zu betreiben und hochwertige Produkte aus tagesfrischer Heumilch zu schaffen.


Ein gustatorisches Erlebnis! 

Probieren Sie es…

Milch ist nicht gleich Milch – Landkäserei  in Kreuth

Naturkäserei



Tegernseer Landkäserei

Reißenbichlweg 1

83708 Kreuth



About the author

Es ist wertvoller einen Ort im Detail zu erleben, als viele kleine Eindrücke eines unbegreifbaren Ganzen.

Genius Loci - den Geist eines Ortes für sich zu entdecken, einzufangen und zu erleben. Wahrnehmen - verstehen - genießen!

Als diplomierter Wirtschaftsingenieur mit zusätzlichem MBA-Studium an renommierter Universität in England (EMBA, EQUIS und AACSB akkreditiert) habe ich mehr als 30 Jahre auf C-Level (Vorstand Marketing und Vertrieb weltweit) für andere oft überraschende Wege zum Erfolg aufgezeigt.

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>