March 15

0 comments

Sidewalk cafés – a bit of greenery with waiter service

By Frank

March 15, 2023


It was like a small revolution when the city council here in Munich allowed the catering industry to set up tables and chairs on the street due to the Corona crisis. And that in the Bavarian metropolis of Munich. Where you have to fight hard for every inch of the open air and pay dearly or get no permission at all.



AHA! cool...


Parking spaces become outdoor areas

Where there used to be parking spaces , new, improvised outdoor areas , so-called sidewalk cafés , suddenly appeared. A pavement café is usually located in the parking lot strip of the street . The term and the idea of the Schanigarten itself originally comes from Austria and has recently been used as a matter of course in Munich.

The additional outdoor areas on public land were actually intended as an emergency solution for the catering industry, which was affected by the Corona Pandemic . They are now an integral part of Munich streets , so they can also be called temporary street furniture .

According to the city council decision of May 4, 2021, sidewalk cafés may remain open from April to October . The sidewalk cafés are consistently popular. In 2021 there were 11,000 additional seats in 681 sidewalk cafés, in 2022 there were still 600 with around 12,000 square meters of seating .


Temporary street furniture - "See and be seen"

The urban phenomenon of temporary street furniture is nothing new. Similar to the sidewalk cafés in Munich, the parklets in Berlin , the superblocks in Barcelona or the Strade Aperte in Milan , they are not permanent spatial structures in their basic structure and can be dismantled overnight.

Temporary street furniture

Temporary street furniture

The sidewalk cafés are places of relaxation and also serve to “ see and be seen ”. A Schanigarten in the actual sense is a flower-decorated ensemble of tables, chairs and parasols on public land - quasi small open-air oases in the middle of the big city in front of a restaurant for the consumption of food and drinks.


For free? - No...

In Munich the whole thing is no longer free of charge . Traders have to pay an administration fee of 180 euros for the first issue, which is only waived during active corona restrictions. In addition, an annual special usage fee must be paid. This then depends on the respective street group and is between 16 and 77 euros per square meter. The average size of a Schanigarten corresponds to two parking spaces in a longitudinal arrangement , i.e. approx. 23 square meters, i.e. fees of 365 - 1755 euros are due .

Where the Schanigarten finally got its name from is not completely clear to this day. Initial attempts at naming in Munich ranged from Bay Bar , Fress und Saufpalette to Terrazzino . However, the view that the term was adopted by our Austrian neighbors is widespread.



Unbelievable


Origin of the Schanigarten

Giovanni (Gianni) Taroni probably opened the first approved sidewalk café in 1754 . Johann Jakob Tarone, who ran a coffee house that opened in 1748 on the Graben, near today's Habsburgergasse, received official approval in 1754 to set up tables and chairs in front of the bar to serve refreshing water.

Since Tarone, like many other cafetiers, was of Italian descent, it was called Gianni's garden . With sloppy intonation , it was then pronounced like " Schani ", at least that's a guess.

Since it was not appropriate for women to go to the coffee house , but only to the pastry shop, they were able to take part in coffee house life for the first time through the outdoor dining area.

Gianni was the first person in town to come up with the brilliant idea of putting up a lemonade tent and armchairs in front of his coffee house and adding a bit of decor with flower arrangements. In 1754 the authorities approved Taroni's project and the Viennese flocked to the place in droves .

Out of nowhere, the innovative Taroni had started the tradition of summer coffee houses . His genuine achievement is still recognized in everyday language today. Because Gianni's garden soon became the Schanigarten, which is now indispensable.


Schanigarten in Vienna

Wien Museum, inventory number HMW 37096

French "Jeans"....

Others insist on this story: The Schani , i.e. the so-called helper waiter , was given the task of carrying tables and chairs outside and the Schanigarten was born. In other words, the most common reference is to the first name "Schani", transferred from the French "Jean " to Viennese and the diminutive form. In the past , many servants and helpers were called Johann and, since French was a fashionable language , they were often addressed as Jean.

Schani thus became a synonym for male servants , which is what they called them even if they didn't know their real name. Since the innkeepers repeatedly told their employees "Schani, bring the garden out" or "Schani, bring the garden in", the term Schanigarten is said to have been derived from this.

One thing is certain: sidewalk cafés are a great invention and in any case much nicer than parked cars . Back to Vienna as shall we say source of ideas. There they are also known or called Grätzloasen , which simply beautify the city here. Grätzloasen are lovingly planted seating areas in parking bays equipped with tables, (lounger) chairs or benches .


Grätzloasen enliven the public space

Grätzloasen are, if you will, public balconies or terraces , independent of the gastronomy. You can settle down there, alone or with friends, bring your picnic, have a glass of wine, read a book, chat with others. According to the LA21 Vienna website, Grätzloasen are a creative idea that enlivens public space.

The actions are intended to encourage communal use and promote coexistence in the Grätzl (residential districts in Vienna) in an imaginative, non-profit-oriented and temporary way. In Munich, this is new administrative territory. Street furniture projects are a mixture of art and culture.


"Land Art", Public Art and "Street Art"

Many models for an expressive, spatially effective approach can be found in "land art", public art and "street art": colourful, eye-catching, banging works. The idea of temporary use, in turn, comes from culture. Innovative ideas for wasteland and vacancies were found here early on.

A temporary installation can never replace a long-term design. However , she can shape the way there . And that, according to Felix Lüdicke (founder of the artist collective "raumzeug"), is the great opportunity for temporary projects.



What's exciting to see


Schanigarten_weinheim with umbrellas and day ticket

Schanigarten_The Weinheim

Freshly prepared - regionally influenced - high-quality cooking.

Culinary is catered for every taste , every time of day and every mood . Some restaurants only open their open-air cafés in the course of the morning, but a small breakfast with coffee and croissant is definitely possible on one corner or the other.

The variety is impressive and it seems as if even more sidewalk cafés are being added from week to week. On a walk or a bike tour through the old town, the Glockenbachviertel, Haidhausen and other districts of Munich you will discover many of the new small open-air oases.


By the way, there is a real Munich sidewalk café,

where the car parking spaces used to be on the side of the road.

Of course, they are missing now, but most car owners enjoy the cozy places created for them.

About the author

It is more valuable to experience a place in detail than many small impressions of an incomprehensible whole.

Genius Loci - discovering, capturing and experiencing the spirit of a place. Perceive - understand - enjoy!

As a graduate industrial engineer with an additional MBA degree from a renowned university in England (EMBA, EQUIS and AACSB accredited), I have been showing other, often surprising, paths to success for more than 30 years at C-Level (Head of Marketing and Sales worldwide).

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>

März 15

0 comments

Schanigärten – a bisserl Grün mit Bedienung

By Frank

März 15, 2023


Es glich schon einer kleinen Revolution, als der Stadtrat hier in München erlaubte, der Gastronomie auf Grund der der Corona Krise auch auf der Straße Tische und Stühle aufzustellen. Und das in der bayrischen Metropole München. Wo man jeden Zentimeter im Freien hart erkämpfen und teuer bezahlen muss oder überhaupt keine Erlaubnis dafür bekommt.



AHA! Cool...


Parkplätze werden zu Freischankflächen

Wo vorher Parkplätze waren, tauchten plötzlich neue, improvisierte Freischankflächen auf, sogenannte Schanigärten. Ein Schanigarten befindet sich in der Regel auf dem Parkplatzstreifen der Straße. Der Begriff und die Idee des Schanigartens an sich kommt ursprünglich aus Österreich und wird in München neuerdings wie selbstverständlich benutzt.

Die zusätzlichen Freischankflächen auf öffentlichem Grund waren eigentlich als Notlösung für die durch die Corona Pandemie in Mitleidenschaft gezogene Gastronomie gedacht. Inzwischen sind sie fester Bestandteil Münchener Straßenzüge, man kann sie somit auch temporäres Stadtmobiliar nennen.

Nach dem Stadtrat Beschluss vom 4.Mai 2021 dürfen Schanigärten zukünftig von April bis Oktober stehen bleiben. Die Schanigärten sind konstant beliebt. 2021 waren es 11.000 zusätzliche Plätze in 681 Schanigärten, in 2022 gab es noch 600 mit rund 12.000 Quadratmetern Sitzplätzen.


Temporäres Stadtmobiliar - "Sehen und Gesehen werden"

Das urbane Phänomen des temporären Stadtmobiliars ist kein neues. Ähnlich den Schanigärten in München, den Parklets in Berlin, den Superblocks in Barcelona oder der Strade Aperte in Mailand ist, dass sie in ihrem Grundaufbau keine permanenten räumlichen Gestaltungen sind und von heute auf morgen wieder abgebaut werden können.

Temporäres Straßenmobiliar

Temporäres Straßenmobiliar

Die Schanigärten sind Orte der Entspannung und dienen auch dem „Sehen und Gesehen-Werden“. Bei einem Schanigarten im eigentlichen Sinn handelt es sich um ein blumengeschmücktes Ensemble von Tischen, Stühlen und Sonnenschirmen auf öffentlichem Grund – quasi kleine Freiluftoasen mitten in der Großstadt vor einem Gastronomiebetrieb zur Konsumation von Speisen und Getränken.


Umsonst? - Nein...

In München ist das Ganze nicht mehr kostenfrei. Gewerbetreibende müssen bei Ersterlass eine Verwaltungsgebühr von 180 Euro zahlen, die nur während aktiven Corona Restriktionen wegfällt. Zusätzlich muss eine jährliche Sondernutzungsgebühr gezahlt werden. Diese richtet sich dann nach der jeweiligen Straßengruppe und liegt zwischen 16 und 77 Euro pro Quadratmeter. Durchschnittliche Größe eines Schanigartens entspricht zwei Parkplätzen in Längsaufstellung also ca. 23qm sprich es werden Gebühren von 365 – 1755 Euro fällig.

Woher der Schanigarten schlussendlich seinen Namen hat, ist bis heute nicht vollkommen geklärt. Anfängliche Versuche der Namensgebung in München reichten von Buchtenbar, Fress- und Saufpalette bis hin zu Terrazzino. Weit verbreitet ist aber die Auffassung, dass der Begriff von unseren österreichischen Nachbarn übernommen wurde.



Unglaublich


Ursprung des Schanigarten

Den ersten genehmigten Schanigarten hat wohl Giovanni (Gianni) Taroni im Jahr 1754 eröffnet. Johann Jakob Tarone, der auf dem Graben, nahe der heutigen Habsburgergasse, ein 1748 eröffnetes Kaffeehaus betrieb, erhielt 1754 eine behördliche Genehmigung, für das Aufstellen von Tischen und Stühlen vor dem Lokal zum Ausschank der Erfrischungswasser.

Da Tarone wie etliche andere Cafetiers italienischer Abstammung war, hat man von Gianni’s Garten gesprochen. Mit schlampiger Betonung wurde das dann wie „Schani“ ausgesprochen, so jedenfalls eine Mutmaßung.

Da es sich für Frauen nicht schickte, ins Kaffeehaus zu gehen, sondern nur in die Konditorei, konnten sie durch den Gastgarten erstmals am Kaffeehausleben teilnehmen.

Gianni hatte quasi als erster in der Stadt die geniale Idee ein Limonadenzelt und Sessel vor seinem Kaffeehaus aufzustellen und mit Blumenarrangements zusätzlich für ein wenig Dekor zu sorgen. 1754 segnete die Obrigkeit Taronis Vorhaben ab und schon strömten die Wiener in Massen herbei.

Aus dem Nichts hatte der innovative Taroni die Tradition der Sommerkaffeehäuser begründet. Seine genuine Leistung wird noch heute im Sprachgebrauch gewürdigt. Denn aus Giannis Garten wurde alsbald der heute nicht mehr wegzudenkende Schanigarten.


Schanigarten in Wien

Wien Museum, Inventarnummer HMW 37096

Französisch "Jean"....

Andere bestehen auf diese Geschichte: Der Schani, also der so genannte Hilfskellner, bekam den Auftrag, Tische und Stühle ins Freie zu tragen und damit war der Schanigarten geboren. Soll heißen am häufigsten findet sich der Verweis auf den Vornamen „Schani“, vom französischen „Jean“ ins Wienerische und in die Verkleinerungsform transferiert. Früher hießen viele Diener und Hilfskräfte Johann und sie wurden, da Französisch eine Modesprache war, häufig als Jean angesprochen.

Schani wurde damit zu einem Synonym für männliche Bedienstete, so rief man sie auch, wenn man ihren richtigen Namen nicht wusste. Da die Wirte ihren Mitarbeitern immer wieder auftrugen „Schani, bring den Garten hinaus“ oder „Schani, bring den Garten herein“, soll sich daraus der Begriff Schanigarten abgeleitet haben.

Fest steht: Schanigärten sind eine tolle Erfindung und jedenfalls viel schöner als parkende Autos. Nochmal zurück zu Wien als sagen wir Ideengeber. Dort kennt bzw. nennt man sie auch Grätzloasen, die hier einfach auch die Stadt verschönern. Grätzloasen sind liebevoll bepflanzte und mit Tischen, (Liege-) Stühlen oder Bänken bestückte Sitzecken in Parkbuchten.


Grätzloasen beleben den öffentlichen Raum

Grätzloasen sind, wenn man so will, öffentliche Balkone oder Terrassen, unabhängig von der Gastronomie. Man kann sich dort niederlassen, allein oder mit Freunden, sein Picknick mitbringen, ein Glas Wein trinken, ein Buch lesen, mit anderen plaudern. Grätzloasen sind laut Webseite der LA21 Wien eine kreative Idee, die den öffentlichen Raum belebt.

Die Aktionen sollen eine gemeinschaftliche Nutzung anregen und das Zusammenleben im Grätzl (Wohnbezirke in Wien) auf einfallsreiche, nicht profitorientierte und zeitlich begrenzte Art fördern. In München betritt man damit verwaltungstechnisches Neuland. Stadtmobiliar-Projekte sind eine Mischung aus Kunst und Kultur.


„Land-Art“, Public Art und „Street-Art“

In „Land-Art“, Public Art und „Street-Art“ lassen sich viele Vorbilder für ausdrucksstarke, raumwirksame Herangehensweise finden: bunte, auffällige, knallende Werke. Die Idee der Zwischennutzung kommt wiederum aus der Kultur. Früh fand man hier innovative Ideen für Brachen und Leerstände.

Eine temporäre Installation kann niemals eine langfristige Gestaltung ersetzen. Jedoch könne sie den Weg dorthin gestalten. Und das ist laut Felix Lüdicke (Gründer des Künstlerkollektivs „raumzeug“) die große Chance temporärer Projekte.



Was gibt's Prickelndes zu sehen


Schanigarten_weinheim mit Schirmen und Tageskarte

Schanigarten_Das Weinheim

Frisch zubereitet – regional geprägt – niveauvoll gekocht.

Kulinarisch ist für jeden Geschmack, jede Tageszeit und jede Stimmung gesorgt. Einige Lokale öffnen ihre Freiluftwirtschaft zwar erst im Laufe des Vormittags, aber ein kleines Frühstück mit Kaffee und Croissant ist an der ein oder anderen Ecke durchaus möglich. 

Die Vielfalt ist beeindruckend und es scheint, als kämen von Woche zu Woche noch mehr Schanigärten hinzu. Bei einem Spaziergang oder einer Radltour durch die Altstadt, das Glockenbachviertel, Haidhausen und andere Stadtviertel Münchens entdeckt man viele der neuen kleinen Freiluftoasen.


Ein  echter Münchner Schanigarten befindet sich übrigens da, 

wo früher die Parkplätze der Autos am Straßenrand waren.

Die fehlen jetzt natürlich, aber die meisten Autobesitzer erfreuen sich an den dafür entstandenen gemütlichen Orten.

About the author

Es ist wertvoller einen Ort im Detail zu erleben, als viele kleine Eindrücke eines unbegreifbaren Ganzen.

Genius Loci - den Geist eines Ortes für sich zu entdecken, einzufangen und zu erleben. Wahrnehmen - verstehen - genießen!

Als diplomierter Wirtschaftsingenieur mit zusätzlichem MBA-Studium an renommierter Universität in England (EMBA, EQUIS und AACSB akkreditiert) habe ich mehr als 30 Jahre auf C-Level (Vorstand Marketing und Vertrieb weltweit) für andere oft überraschende Wege zum Erfolg aufgezeigt.

You might also like

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with the latest trends!

>